Cover image for Berry Appleman & Leiden
Logo
See All Photos

Berry Appleman & Leiden

Engaged Employer

Berry Appleman & Leiden

Add a Review

Berry Appleman & Leiden Employee Reviews about "casual dress code"

Updated Jul 27, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 572 of over 573 reviews
4.1
80% Recommend to a Friend
Berry Appleman & Leiden Managing Partner Jeremy Fudge
85% Approve of CEO

Found 10 of over 572 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Berry Appleman & Leiden Managing Partner Jeremy Fudge
Jeremy Fudge
323 Ratings

What people are saying about Berry Appleman & Leiden

Join the conversation on

Law

104K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/law/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Berry Appleman & Leiden~29249
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Berry Appleman & Leiden? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Berry Appleman & Leiden employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Berry Appleman & Leiden and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "casual dress code"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay Away

    Jul 8, 2021 - Legal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super casual dress code; great location for suburban residents.

    Cons

    Constant shuffling of clients to different teams makes for poor client service, terrible morale, insecurity and anxiety with little to no guidance on transferred workloads; constant turnover at production and administrative levels. Horrible management with urgency as the norm for operations.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best people with whom I have ever worked.

    May 12, 2020 - Associate Attorney in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people here are incredible, from the Equity Partners down to the Administrative Assistants. Everyone I have met thus far is friendly, gracious, and a team player. The Partners are approachable, unlike my last firm, and always willing to collaborate on a challenging case. The atmosphere is fun and relaxed. Casual dress code, clubs to join, meditation room, ping pong table next to the cafeteria.

    Cons

    I have not encountered one yet.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Berry Appleman & Leiden team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Jun 24, 2021 - Technology Operations Manager in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice work environment, great pay and benefits, nice co-workers, casual dress code, lots of fun celebrations (prior to covid)

    Cons

    There are times with heavy workload as with most business,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not great

    Oct 19, 2015 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No set uniform or dress code Relatively chilled out at times Plenty of socials

    Cons

    Mostly long hours No progression Managers have a power complex

    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great firm... hope to come back soon!

    May 18, 2020 - Paralegal in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quality co-workers, latest technology, positive leadership, excellent benefits, casual dress code, nice offices.

    Cons

    I just got laid off, along with a number of other people, due to Covid-19. That was a bummer, but the firm provided me with a very generous severance and HR treated me with dignity and respect throughout the process. I have been laid off before and have never been treated so well.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Immigration Sweatshop

    Nov 3, 2019 - Legal Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work with nice team members, relaxed dress code

    Cons

    low salary for heavy workload, management micromanages

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Firm treats law clerks (who are licensed attorneys) disposably!

    Apr 20, 2015 - Law Clerk in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most staff (outside of attorneys) are young and friendly. Dress code is very casual for a law firm. Work hours are typically 9 to 5, except for the busy season in February/March.

    Cons

    Work poorly distributed among employees - some teams are extremely busy, others have no work. Senior management is cold, impersonable, and sometimes rude. Firm promotes a robot-like work environment where employees put their head down and churn out documents all day ad nauseam. Most of BAL's law clerks are licensed attorneys, yet get paid and treated like administrative staff.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible experience

    Jun 29, 2017 -  in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Casual dress code, team is nice

    Cons

    Management and HR make this a miserable place to work. The environment is toxic and working conditions are poor. HR offers zero support and management continually makes awful decisions which are simply not communicated to employees. Staff turnover is naturally unbelievably high and so many knowledgeable people who have been with the company for years are leaving. You are expected to work ridiculous hours while getting paid next to nothing. Your hard work is never appreciated but if something goes wrong you will be scolded like a child

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pursue the exceptional... pursue something else.

    Jul 14, 2021 - Paralegal in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Casual dress code, decent healthcare plans, flexible work schedules (even if the caseloads are unbelievably heavy)

    Cons

    A soul-crushing amount of work for a single person; expectations are completely unrealistic; overtime is expected but goes unpaid; pay is still extremely low for the amount of work that is done. Upper-management doesn't care about us at all; they just care about how much we produce. Partners coddle clients at BAL employees' expense, making work even harder for us. Partners will place blame and reprimand subordinates for issues that arise instead of take responsibility for their own poor management. They don't make changes based on employee feedback. One partner has raised their voice at me and spoken to me with disrespect on multiple occasions. Just yesterday, he yelled at me for something that was completely out of my control. Going to the Practice Manager and/or HR is out of the question. OneBAL seems more like an attempt to build a brand and manipulate employees by co-opting the "self-care / work-life balance" movement. Every night and every morning I'm filled with existential dread because of this place. I feel like I'm working with a loaded gun to my head.

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I plan to work here until I retire

    Jun 4, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, latest technology, ability to grow your career, company culture, cool offices, casual dress code, good work/life balance, leadership who cares about the people who work here, nice co-workers.

    Cons

    The firm has improved every year since I started. I have no complaints. I plan to work here until I retire (in about 15 years).

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Berry Appleman & Leiden Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Berry Appleman & Leiden? Share Your Experiences

Berry Appleman & Leiden logo
or

Berry Appleman & Leiden Careers

Cover image for Berry Appleman & Leiden

BAL helps clients around the world with the challenges of corporate global immigration. The caliber and quality of the people we hire are...More

  • More about BAL
  • Working For Us
  • Core Values
  • Public Service
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Berry Appleman & Leiden

361 days ago

Company News
BAL’s Don Addis Wins CFO of the Year Award from Dallas Business Journal
Shared image - BAL's Don Addis Wins CFO of the Year Award from Dallas Business Journal
BAL's Don Addis Wins CFO of the Year Award from Dallas Business Journal
www.bal.com
See all

Berry Appleman & Leiden Photos

+ Add Photo
Berry Appleman & Leiden photo of: BAL Headquarters
Berry Appleman & Leiden photo of: BAL's award-winning in-house technology team
Berry Appleman & Leiden photo of: Co- Managing Partner Frieda Garcia at the BALove Event
Berry Appleman & Leiden photo of: Team Event with BAL Co-Founder and Partner Emeritus, David Berry
Berry Appleman & Leiden photo of: building
Berry Appleman & Leiden photo of: Dallas office
Berry Appleman & Leiden photo of: Dallas office
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Berry Appleman & Leiden Job Seekers Also Viewed

Fragomen Logo
Fragomen

3.6

1,695 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 572 Berry Appleman & Leiden reviews submitted anonymously by Berry Appleman & Leiden employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Berry Appleman & Leiden is right for you.