Best Buy Reviews in Asheville, NC | Glassdoor

Best Buy Asheville Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "My honest review of Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Hendersonville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment Very Flexible schedule Great Benefits for full-time employees Great employee discount after 30 days

    Cons

    You only get a 15-minute break if you work part-time. Some managers are flexible.

    Best Buy2019-06-20
  2. "Awesome Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Arden, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount on merchandise, paid time off for part time employees, 401k, stock options, etc.

    Cons

    no health insurance for part time employees.

    Advice to Management

    The only thing I could recommend would be to give part time employees access to some sort of health insurance.

    Best Buy2019-06-13
  3. "Awesome, but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, Awesome Co-Workers, Location, Lighting, being around technology.

    Cons

    Not having a set schedule, system that's being updated every other week, Doesn't crack down on other employee's negative behaviors at my location, favoritism at my location. Co-workers that won't do their job at my location.

    Advice to Management

    FOLLOW SOP and make sure everyone is FOLLOWING SOP.

    Best Buy2017-10-05
  4. "Geek Squad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Arden, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the job, the management, and the clients.

    Cons

    Having friends and family ask me to fix their computers.

    Advice to Management

    Be flexible.

    Best Buy2017-01-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multi Channel Sales Associate in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Pay and benefits are great. The company normally starts employees out above minimum wage. Coworkers are wonderful!

    Cons

    The go overboard on training. The company spends thousands in training every employee. The computer systems are horrible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job! Maybe get to know your employees more on a personal level. Can't think of anything else to work on!

    Best Buy2015-12-01
  6. "Customer service specialist and warehouse associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount was alright. Other associates were always there when you needed them. The store was fairly busy all the time.

    Cons

    Management was awful, two faced associates. The pay was awful . We never had a set schedule . Working the weekends was a must. Asking for time off was like pulling teeth! ! I do not recommend working for this company!

    Advice to Management

    Do not have favorites. Always go by the same return policy. Do not be sexist! Do not be rude to your employees.. they will find better jobs that pay much better and are nit hear as stressful!!

    Best Buy2015-09-15
  7. "GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairview, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than 10 years

    Pros

    employee discount and cool products

    Cons

    micro management of upper management, unequal application of discipline

    Advice to Management

    Be Aware!

    Best Buy2015-08-06
  8. "Great flexibility, awful pay for a Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked in BBY for over eight years and i enjoyed the culture before the new CEO came on board. BBY will work with your schedule, they tend to be super flexible. Great discount too!!

    Cons

    I started at $7.50 and when they left I was making $11.35. For the last three years, I only got an 8 cent raise because I was close to the cap. My next step was to become a Supervisor if I wanted to get a higher pay. I refused to become a Supervisor (I was offered to apply several times) because I was a FT student as well and that was not my goal. Also, many of peers wanted to get promoted however, BBY have eliminated...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit playing favorites and listen to your employees, they are in the customer face 24/7.

    Best Buy2014-01-04
  9. "Good Job for a high school or college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Arden, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy place to work. Has a flexible schedule. Good job for someone young who is looking at eventually moving a technical industry.

    Cons

    Low pay and benefits. Good high school or college job, but isn't something to make a career out of.

    Best Buy2013-09-03
  10. "A mediocre company with mediocre leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultation Agent in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to great technology, great friendships

    Cons

    Terrible pay, other employees tend to make mistakes constantly, easy to get overwhelmed by workload, leadership is god awful

    Advice to Management

    Increase the base salaries of your employees dramatically to reduce turnover and retain highly talented people. It is your only market differentiator.

    Best Buy2013-07-06
Found 13 reviews