Best Buy Reviews in Baton Rouge, LA | Glassdoor

Best Buy Baton Rouge Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
12%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Being a Best Buy Mobile Sales Consultant is a very gratifying and interactive position in Best Buy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy Mobile - Sales Consultant in Hammond, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    he customers are more friendly at Best Buy compared to most retail stores. Best Buy will acknowledge your achievements and move you up in their stores. Example: Moving from O/S to Part Time or Part Time to Full Time. You can also get promoted easily with good performance. Best Buy really makes you feel like you have an important part in the store. As for working in the Mobile Department, phones are one piece of tech... that is really easy to explain! Simplifying how devices work can be a very simple task especially when talking about popular flagship phones. It can be so fun getting to unbox phones all day!

    Show More

    Cons

    Working in the mobile department at Besy Buy can be a very stressful position at times. Customers expect more out of you when you are making them sign contracts, and transfer their precious data from phone to phone. However once you learn to establish trust with your customer and treat them like guests at your home, you will have a great time with them. If i had one con it would be thats some consultations can take... up to a couple hours at times and that can make both you, and the customer impatient, but in the end it was all worth it! And the shift will fly by in no time!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The management in my store is great! Just show respect and work hard, and they will do the same!

    Best Buy2018-01-19
  2. "Great pay, but horrible atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apple Master in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    You do get a consistent 40 hours

    Cons

    terrible environment of people

    Best Buy2019-02-12
  3. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's room to grow, the managers are accessible and listen to what your needs may be as long as you're doing your job right.

    Cons

    Other employees may be rude, sometimes customers are rude.

    Best Buy2019-01-29
  4. "Its retail..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and great people apart from upper leadership

    Cons

    Work life balance is non existent, upper management is never wrong

    Advice to Management

    Train your supervisors side by side on expectations, rather than just throwing them out on the floor and expecting them to know exactly what you want them to do like its something they've been doing previously

    Best Buy2019-02-12
  5. "Its a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got to work early and when finished with route, you were done for the day

    Cons

    Had 5 managers tell you the same thing every day, none of who would take responsibility but all who blamed the other managers.

    Advice to Management

    Get organized

    Best Buy2017-08-21
  6. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of it a job I guess

    Cons

    No advancement, unqualified people getting promotions, always pushing sales preforming goal but promoted people not meeting them.

    Advice to Management

    Long term workers that do a good job need to stop being overlooked.

    Best Buy2017-04-14
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Prairieville, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, flexible hours and classes to teach you about new technology and selling skills so you are prepared to sell.

    Cons

    Too focused on hitting sales budget and selling credit cards than focusing on customer service. Marketing team is a mess.

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on credit card sales and more on customer service. You sell more when people like you and want to return to the store.

    Best Buy2016-08-02
  8. "Geek Squad Double Agent Covert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Somewhat independent. Best Buy Discount.

    Cons

    Pay was ok but could be better. Annoying or dirty customers/homes. Could not leave from home with Geek Squad vehicle. Always had to go to the store to get it. No room for advancement. Geek squad car took a long time to get and it was in poor condition. Not enough training. Didn't like working on Saturdays.

    Advice to Management

    We need more training and room for advancement.

    Best Buy2016-04-26
  9. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Ponchatoula, LA
    Recommends

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, opportunities for advancement (when favoritism not in play)

    Cons

    continuous realignments, 2 in the last 4 years

    Best Buy2016-04-21
  10. "Not a Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad Supervisor DCI in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, Decent discount.

    Cons

    Its retail in every sense of the word, Workload (since restructure), Pay not great for workload, Sell like you are on commission (but sorry no commission)

    Advice to Management

    It seems like having fun while being the best, has been replaced with, Work hard and then work harder. I think the fun needs to be put back in. The older employees always say how Best Buy USED to be a great place to work and I think the newer employees are missing out on the FUN... IMO

    Best Buy2015-09-16
Found 18 reviews