Best Buy Reviews in Boise, ID | Glassdoor

Best Buy Boise Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Corie Barry
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Associate in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, You work with some great people and there's a good work environment.

    Cons

    I guess the only possible con (if you can call it that) is that they tend to keep the employees they hire so there's not a lot of chances to start working there outside of seasonal work. But that speaks for them not against them as it mean their employees are just that good.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! As far as seasonal positions go i would say a bit more communication as to how to improve would be good but thats the only thing i can think of.

    Best Buy2019-03-27
  2. "Wonderful, Exciting, Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great environment, friendly management, engaging customers, lots of free food, STELLAR employee discount

    Cons

    Holiday shifts, challenging work, long hours, steep learning curve, unforgiving to inexperienced employees

    Best Buy2019-06-26
  3. "Don't apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's an electronic store that's it.

    Cons

    This is a horrible store to work at, not willing to give employees chances and unwilling to listen to people. I'll never shop or work here.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe you should try giving people opportunities and you wouldn't be losing business to Walmart and Amazon.

    Best Buy2019-02-06
  4. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great, the job itself is easy

    Cons

    Favoritism among management, TONS of unethical practices by management with no repercussions since they police themselves, if you're female, prepare to have managers try to seduce you, inconsistent hours

    Advice to Management

    Don't drop the soap

    Best Buy2018-08-24
  5. "Pay could be better but otherwise it's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Nampa, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is really nice. Management is good. Opportunity for upward mobility. Hard work is rewarded.

    Cons

    Pay is a little low for the amount of technical knowledge and expertise that you must be able to use on the sales floor.

    Advice to Management

    Offer raises every 6 months instead of every year

    Best Buy2017-10-19
  6. "A Retail Team that Actually Works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Nampa, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers are the biggest pro, but leadership that actually listens, corporate accountability, and an awesome discount also help. The pay is the best in my area for the job.

    Cons

    Not every single coworker or leader is awesome and the customers will seriously lay into you if you let them. It’s not a job for the faint of heart or easily discouraged.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the Phone HUB and customers will notice.

    Best Buy2017-08-04
  7. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was my first job and I've been there for man than 2 years, great caring management , constantly learning about new technology, cross training available , decent benefits

    Cons

    You can't really move up in the company there aren't that many positions . Pay could be a little more competitive ESPECIALLY for the employees that have been thrrr a while

    Best Buy2017-01-26
  8. "Acceptable job for 16-20 year olds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, all your co-workers are usually awesome and very helpful. Great employee discount on SOME products. Fun technology. Usually very flexible with scheduling and hours.

    Cons

    MANAGERS!!! I worked at 3 stores and at every locations managers were awful. They micro-manage and constantly focus on what you do wrong instead of what you are good at. Some managers were fine but if you are considering working for a store, go to the employees in the department you are likely applying for and get their feedback. I guarantee they will be honest... and probably dislike their managers.

    Advice to Management

    Stop setting unrealistic expectations just so you can pick some tiny thing you saw us doing a month ago to blame for not reaching those expectations. Your turn over rate is in the mid 70's percent, if you want to keep talent, learn to recognize it.

    Best Buy2017-02-08
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good overall culture. Training is there if you want to take advantage of it. Benefits/discounts are good, especially for a part time college job.

    Cons

    Can be clique between departments. Make sure you know your schedule, the online app barely works.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your department leads. They really understand what is going on within the store and their departments.

    Best Buy2017-01-20
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Caldwell, ID

    I worked at Best Buy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great full time benefits, fun environment, supportive co-workers. Supportive of my National Guard service.

    Cons

    It is a retail environment so customer interactions can be positive or negative.

    Best Buy2017-01-05
Found 20 reviews