Best Buy Boulder Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.8
17%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
2 Ratings
  1. "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work, discounts were amazing

    Cons

    non! the place was fantastic and everything is good

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2015-09-09
  2. "mobile sales"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Mobile Sales Consultant in Boulder, CO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good discount, gain customer service

    Cons

    low pay, management wants commission-level effort without any commission

    Best Buy2020-04-16
  3. "B2C experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Sales in Boulder, CO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sales manager who was relatable but also strict when he had to be. Paid training Flexible hours, can request schedule two weeks before-hand

    Cons

    Low pay Room for raise is not the best

    Best Buy2020-02-05
  4. "Stay away."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee discounts are pretty good, I guess.

    Cons

    Where do I even start? Management ranges from merely selfish to downright abusive and corporate doesn't care. The pay is appallingly low. Your scheduled availability and requested time off is ignored. Management even gets pretty intensely homophobic and transphobic, not to mention racist and misogynistic. And forget having an ADA compliant workplace if you need it. For a company who likes to talk up "being human" they're about as far as you can get from actual compassion and decency. You are not valued. Your development as a salesman is not encouraged. You are not worth giving the time of day to. You are a distraction from gaming or gambling. Not that I blame them for wanting to game and gamble instead of working, anyone would need a vice and a half with customers like the ones that walk into that store. As bad as the culture of fear created by management is, the customers are ten times worse. There are the sweet ones who remember that you are a human person working retail in Boulder, CO. And then there are the rest of the Boulder people - the ones who are too important for you, the subhuman servant who exists to get what they want without further direction. It's so bad, believing it's a lack of self-awareness would be more depressing than believing it's malice.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2020-03-07
  5. "Retail"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the people I worked with

    Cons

    They say it’s more than just retail but it’s just retail

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-09-10
  6. "Sales Consultant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    my co-workers are great. Not much else

    Cons

    upper management is awful and they know it. Breathing down your throats to sell credit cards. Extremely monotonous job. Feel like you are wasting your life.

    Best Buy2018-12-13
  7. "Costumer Service Specialist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Costumer Service Representative in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Managers, okay pay, easy work

    Cons

    Pay, benifets, discount, no 401k until after a year,

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2018-11-04
  8. "It's okay, but a long term commitment if you actually want to go anywhere"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, actually decent trainings, tiered bonuses based on store's monthly performance

    Cons

    Emphasis on customer satisfaction rather than employee loyalty when dealing with unreasonable customers, out of date POS systems and activation software, inefficient utilization of space

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2018-03-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount. Fun to sell Tech

    Cons

    Constant pushing of "hitting numbers." Coworkers can be irritating.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2017-05-07
  10. "All about corporate!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Autotech MECP Basic in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employee discounts!!! Most of the sales people are extremely nice and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Everything else about the job. No one cares about anyone but themselves. If you have a problem and take it to someone you think you trust, it gets taken elsewhere, then everyone knows. Upper management are sexist. The list goes on.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2017-03-10
Found 17 reviews