Best Buy Reviews in Boulder, CO | Glassdoor

Best Buy Boulder Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing place to work, discounts were amazing

    Cons

    non! the place was fantastic and everything is good

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing

    Best Buy2015-09-09
  2. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    my co-workers are great. Not much else

    Cons

    upper management is awful and they know it. Breathing down your throats to sell credit cards. Extremely monotonous job. Feel like you are wasting your life.

    Best Buy2018-12-13
  3. "Costumer Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Costumer Service Representative in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome Managers, okay pay, easy work

    Cons

    Pay, benifets, discount, no 401k until after a year,

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hard work, thanks for everything

    Best Buy2018-11-04
  4. "It's okay, but a long term commitment if you actually want to go anywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, actually decent trainings, tiered bonuses based on store's monthly performance

    Cons

    Emphasis on customer satisfaction rather than employee loyalty when dealing with unreasonable customers, out of date POS systems and activation software, inefficient utilization of space

    Advice to Management

    Start developing planograms with security devices in mind, focus more on employee comfort when dealing with unnecessarily rude customers

    Best Buy2018-03-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great discount. Fun to sell Tech

    Cons

    Constant pushing of "hitting numbers." Coworkers can be irritating.

    Advice to Management

    Better bonuses and free drink/snack with 8-hour shift

    Best Buy2017-05-07
  6. "Entry level job that is great to individuals over for better opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer & Optics Sales Consultant in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, student reimbursement program, and generous discounts. Employee promotion opportunities.

    Cons

    Working weekends, pressure to perform using metrics that do not affect actual pay. No commission. entry level pay that's barely above legal wage.

    Advice to Management

    Do not train every employee for every position, there are too many products to remember and systems to learn. Allow employees to focus on their department, this will create ownership and as well hold employees accountable. Lastly, managers are notoriously known to micromanage which causes added unnecessary stress, which also increases turnover rate.

    Best Buy2017-03-08
  7. "All about corporate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Autotech MECP Basic in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employee discounts!!! Most of the sales people are extremely nice and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Everything else about the job. No one cares about anyone but themselves. If you have a problem and take it to someone you think you trust, it gets taken elsewhere, then everyone knows. Upper management are sexist. The list goes on.

    Advice to Management

    The advice is to corporate. Talk more to the little people. Your not getting all the information that is there. Your only getting what you want to hear from people who are kissing your butts to make themselves and their own paychecks!

    Best Buy2017-03-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "These guys do not know how to run their store."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Better pay than most retail stores

    Cons

    Incompetent managers. After going through the process of hiring (agreeing to background check, drug test, etc), I sat and waited for them to call me to let me know when I would be joining the team. They called me at 8:45am on a Sunday and said "you start today at 10am." No joke. They hadn't even told me yet what I needed to buy for my uniform yet. Who in their right minds gives just over an hour's notice that they are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give people more than an hour's notice when you want someone to work. Also, don't let an incompetent person run things when it comes to hiring new people. I will actively dissuade people as best I can to not work for you.

    Best Buy2016-07-12
  9. "Product Process Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Process Manager in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Medical benefits, discount, advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Politics, backstabbing, compensation for work accomplished.

    Best Buy2016-05-04
  10. "Good college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Boulder, CO

      I worked at Best Buy (Less than a year)

      Pros

      normally the people are pretty chill and if you like electronics the discount is pretty nice

      Cons

      metrics drive your life on a day to day basis and they continually remind you about your performance.

      Best Buy2015-08-18
    Found 13 reviews