Best Buy Cary Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
81%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
2 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Best Buy and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Job with Great Leadership

    Aug 28, 2020 - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -> competitive pay -> great work environment ->good management and leadership -> good team work environment

    Cons

    -> not enough shifts sometimes during certain periods of the year

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Super boring and controlling management. I literally saw an employee steal and they didn’t do anything about it.

    Mar 24, 2021 - Sales Associate in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount, decent pay, good location

    Cons

    Boring, slow, bad environment, controlling

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    pay was good, but was not getting enough hours.

    Jan 21, 2021 - Customer Service Associate in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great coworkers, the manager was good, the pay was a lot better than my last job

    Cons

    not enough hours training provided was not enough

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Solid Pay

    Oct 14, 2020 - Inventory Specialist in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    $15/Hour Not a lot of metrics to pressure you Leeway Great Supervisors that work with you

    Cons

    Lots of working on your feet Sometimes lack of communication

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work Part-Time while in school!

    Jan 31, 2018 - Computer Sales Associate in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment and really helpful people. I've worked here for 4 years while going to school trying to get my degree. Sales at Best Buy is a lot more laid back than any other sales positions because we do not get commission. There is a chance for a bonus every month however. This bonus is between 0.25x and 1.5x your pay depending on if the store as a whole reaches it's revenue target for the month.

    Cons

    Management will consistently pressure you to get people to sign up for Best Buy credit cards. Just make sure you offer it to every single person. The worst they can say is no.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a

    Oct 31, 2017 - Sales Consultant in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    --Fantastic opportunity to learn about a wide range of electronic products and technology --Fun team-based environment, friendly co-workers --Great opportunities to learn about other job roles by filling in when the store is understaffed

    Cons

    --Works full time hours as a part time employee, without full time benefits --Underpaid in spite of being a "solid performer" --Sometimes pressured by management to hit unrealistic sales goals, which leads to some employees pressuring customers into purchases and misrepresenting products in order to get sales --Toxic culture around getting customers to sign up for the credit card --The job is not commission based, however we are pressured to sell as if we were under commission, even though we get very little monetary reward for doing so (compared to a commission-based job) --Store bonuses are very small, usually like $40 bucks more in my paycheck

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Resume Experience

    Sep 14, 2012 - Customer Service Representative in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly employees and management and they really attempt to put you in the right place in the store. I know that other Best Buys are different.

    Cons

    Customers could be a pain, but you deal with that at all retail positions. Also, having to sell credit cards as though my life depended on it was what made me quit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Place to work

    Apr 24, 2010 -  in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun and friendly atmosphere, alot of good people to work with

    Cons

    tough to move up, lack of raises

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not a bad place for a college student

    Dec 11, 2013 - Sales Consultant in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee discount, decent pay for a retail job, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Holiday hours, limited part time benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent sales training, good team ethics but flaky policy/corporate politics hurt on the store level

    Mar 23, 2015 - Computers Sales Lead in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had fun working for Best Buy, I liked my team and we got along well. I liked my supervisor who was consistently pushing and encouraging more team based performance rather than building up high sellers or just department leads. I learned a lot about selling which translated to a very successful sales career for me after I left from Best Buy.

    Cons

    I was with the company for a year and a half, I was "warned" about clocking out earlier than my scheduled time off but when they schedule you for 10-11 hour shifts then change the day of its hard to keep track of when you're supposed to be in ad out. This was not a big deal for me as I simply started re checking the schedule every day rather than assuming the digital one was accurate. After the 13' holiday season, lots of company policies changed and the "warning" I had originally gotten was now a terminable offense and I was let go instantly, no apologies or a week notice even. Just "Hey we got the call this morning, your gone sign here" It was extremely impersonal and cold. I was on my way to supervisor at the time, left BBY and became very successful using the same sales process they taught in the auto industry.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Work at Best Buy? Share Your Experiences

or