Best Buy Reviews in Cary, NC | Glassdoor

Best Buy Cary Reviews

Updated Jan 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work Part-Time while in school!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Sales Associate in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment and really helpful people. I've worked here for 4 years while going to school trying to get my degree. Sales at Best Buy is a lot more laid back than any other sales positions because we do not get commission. There is a chance for a bonus every month however. This bonus is between 0.25x and 1.5x your pay depending on if the store as a whole reaches it's revenue target for the month.

    Cons

    Management will consistently pressure you to get people to sign up for Best Buy credit cards. Just make sure you offer it to every single person. The worst they can say is no.

    Best Buy2018-01-31
  2. "Great Company, Bad Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Theater Sales Associate in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discount on Store Brands, Knowledge of Tech Industry and Incentives for taking certain courses. Lots of opportunities to move up

    Cons

    No healthcare to my knowledge, discount almost non existent on name brands. No commission no matter how much you sell

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2017-11-12
  3. "Not a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    --Fantastic opportunity to learn about a wide range of electronic products and technology --Fun team-based environment, friendly co-workers --Great opportunities to learn about other job roles by filling in when the store is understaffed

    Cons

    --Works full time hours as a part time employee, without full time benefits --Underpaid in spite of being a "solid performer" --Sometimes pressured by management to hit unrealistic sales goals, which leads to some employees pressuring customers into purchases and misrepresenting products in order to get sales --Toxic culture around getting customers to sign up for the credit card --The job is not commission based, however we are pressured to sell as if we were under commission, even though we get very little monetary reward for doing so (compared to a commission-based job) --Store bonuses are very small, usually like $40 bucks more in my paycheck

    Best Buy2017-11-01
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, Intel Retail Edge Program

    Cons

    Pressure to take advantage of customers

    Best Buy2017-08-02
  5. "Best Buy Employ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Good healthcare. Good Benefits.

    Cons

    Long Hours. Redundant routines. Time off Guilt.

    Best Buy2016-09-07
  6. "idk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - North Carolina in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the company has opportunity to bonus monthly. the discount was great.

    Cons

    management played favorites often. Most of them were personal friends with employees.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2016-01-11
  7. "Decent sales training, good team ethics but flaky policy/corporate politics hurt on the store level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computers Sales Lead in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had fun working for Best Buy, I liked my team and we got along well. I liked my supervisor who was consistently pushing and encouraging more team based performance rather than building up high sellers or just department leads. I learned a lot about selling which translated to a very successful sales career for me after I left from Best Buy.

    Cons

    I was with the company for a year and a half, I was "warned" about clocking out earlier than my scheduled time off but when they schedule you for 10-11 hour shifts then change the day of its hard to keep track of when you're supposed to be in ad out. This was not a big deal for me as I simply started re checking the schedule every day rather than assuming the digital one was accurate. After the 13' holiday season, lots of company policies changed and the "warning" I had originally gotten was now a terminable offense and I was let go instantly, no apologies or a week notice even. Just "Hey we got the call this morning, your gone sign here" It was extremely impersonal and cold. I was on my way to supervisor at the time, left BBY and became very successful using the same sales process they taught in the auto industry.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2015-03-23
  8. "Retail will always be retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mutli Channel Sales Assistant in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You'll meet tons of people your age. Good team environment (at least where I worked at). Compensation is nowhere near where it should be, but again, it is retail. Benefits are okay at best.

    Cons

    Managers have no idea of how to work issues out. Schedules are insane constantly. Goals are not realistic to the point that not even your manager will hit them but they will yell at you for it.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2014-05-20
  9. "Not a bad place for a college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee discount, decent pay for a retail job, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Holiday hours, limited part time benefits

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2013-12-11
  10. "Entry level store position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Cary, NC

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very easy, fairly good pay for a student.

    Cons

    Management at the Cary, NC store is meh

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2013-10-22
Found 13 reviews