Best Buy Computer Sales Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Computer Sales Specialist Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chance to work a lot of hours, gain solid sales and retail experience. Part-Time is what you make of it, better sales result in more hours.

    Cons

    New employees often assigned to closing shifts which go over the announced ending time frequently. When I was employed there I often had trouble with scheduling, I was often assigned to work when I previously stated I was unavailable. Most likely not an issue at this time.

    Advice to Management

    None at this moment.

    Best Buy2017-03-02
  2. "Great Discounts and Decent Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Specialist in Bloomingdale, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discounts you get at Best Buy are amazing! I don't know any other companies that offer the mark downs like Best Buy

    Cons

    Management is stern on employees and push you to sell products on customers that are unwilling.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that people come into Best Buy with the amount they are willing to spend and a product in mind. This is the digital age.

    Best Buy2018-10-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Learned a Lot but intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Specialist in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot about sales and how to pressure sell. Support from managers was always good. Team was great to work with as well.

    Cons

    Filling out customer sheets as your talking customers. Working holidays and weekends is not fun. competitive sales without commission.

    Best Buy2017-12-22
  5. "Computer Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts, good starter job, decent hours, training

    Cons

    Not enough pay raises, annoying customers

    Advice to Management

    Pay raises and bonuses to reflect performance needs work on.

    Best Buy2017-07-18
  6. "Computer Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace environment. Worked with great people. Built great relationships with coworkers. Schedule was also flexible. At the time I was a student and they were really willing to work around your availability, assuming that's provided within a reasonable amount of time.

    Cons

    It seemed like the business priorities would shift often. Once you would get comfortable with a given sales approach, it would change.

    Advice to Management

    Great management at the supervisory level. Supervisors would build relationships with staff and really work with staff to provide the best support. Occasionally it seemed like middle management was disconnected from sales team.

    Best Buy2016-12-06
  7. "Great start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Specialist in Altoona, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management and business analysis training

    Cons

    High basket item demands, low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Keep developing employees

    Best Buy2016-12-05
  8. "Computer Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Computer Sales Specialist in Westminster, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    -Awesome discounts especially on open box stuff -Fast paced work environment that hardly gets boring -Good benefits

    Cons

    -Management sometimes schedule hours around times that employees set as unavailable -More focus on making numbers than providing good customer service

    Advice to Management

    Management should invest more in making stores more technologically advance since the store does sell quite a bit of technology. It would attract more customers.

    Best Buy2016-05-03
  9. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Computer Sales Specialist in Ashland, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    employee discount 401k class compensation

    Cons

    you are just a number that need to hit his numbers

    Advice to Management

    pay better not everyone uses the employee discount

    Best Buy2016-05-17
  10. "Fun place to be, bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Specialist in Kalispell, MT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working there I had a lot of fun. Lots of things to learn, cool people to meet, and I obtained lots of valuable work experience.

    Cons

    Horrible scheduling! Was in school at the time and they kept having conflict for months.

    Advice to Management

    May have just been my scenario, but definitely focus on employees working well together.

    Best Buy2016-03-04
  11. "Fund at bestbuy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Computer Sales Specialist in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    You will learn a lot

    Cons

    nothing really, i am just forced to write a negative review

    Advice to Management

    you guys are doing great

    Best Buy2015-12-18
Found 89 reviews