Best Buy Reviews in Conroe, TX | Glassdoor

Best Buy Conroe Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sales Training was provided. I was able to learn very valuable information. Although this was a training session that isn't always offered.

    Cons

    Pay is low considering the amount of impact you can have on a store.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more incentives to good employees to increase revenue.

    Best Buy2017-02-07
  2. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Good for working around school, flexibility, co-workers mad the job more fun and enjoyable, most worked well as a team.

    Cons

    With all retail the hours can be down for spring time and make it hard to pay bills, sometimes once in a position and if you do it well management doesn't want to move you up, play games, pay is a little low for amount of work that you do, when its busy, jumping through hoops for clients.

    Best Buy2016-10-27
  3. "Solid Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a great job if you're interested in technology. The pay was solid for my situation at the time (a high school senior), and the employee discount is unique and very good.

    Cons

    There are online e-learnings that you have to do a ton of when you first start and continuously keep up with. There are things like customer recommendation sheets that they hassle you to use and fill out, but don't always help make sales any easier and can just be a pain or a distraction from or for the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing right what you're doing right, which is most things. At the Conroe, TX location, I had a great manager.

    Best Buy2016-01-05
  4. "Gained sales and customer service experience, however, no commission and low hourly rate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discount on products. Gained knowledge about all the products. Great job if you get it for the discount and have another job for the bills.

    Cons

    Low pay for the job and minimal room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Not much to say to management.

    Best Buy2015-03-05
  5. "Great in the beginning!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Theater Specialist in Conroe, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fairly flexible work schedule for students. There are a few good people with good attitudes and supervisors will often work with you with scheduling. Definitely a good place to keep up with technology.

    Cons

    Constant weekend trainings that are mandatory get really old really fast. A lot of opening shifts right after closing. Never a set schedule, its always changing. Tons of 4 hour shifts that are hardly worth driving from home if you live further away. Not to mention if you have a set availability they don't care. A whole lot of favoritism! Employee discount is almost non-existent now and so are the store bonuses. If... you don't share the managements opinions then you better keep them to yourself!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favoritism shift the focus back to the employee and this company might succeed.

    Best Buy2012-07-31
  6. "Fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Seasonal Sales Associate (Media) in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Your coworkers are usually really awesome and help you whenever they can. The discount when I was there was pretty awesome (cost+%10) and I used it to gain a surplus of HDMI cables for all my electronics here at home. Management did a good job of acknowledging a job well done and even offered me the chance to stay on past seasonal due to my hard work. The hours weren't too bad and I was in school so whenever I had a... test to study for they wouldn't make me stay too late.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's retail so working with the public can be a hassle sometimes. Pay could have been better but it was alright for the time being.

    Advice to Management

    Remember to encourage the employees as often as possible because the customers can be harsh. Also the dress code of ALL black or brown shoes is weak. Allow people to wear shoes that have some character and not just ugly crap.

    Best Buy2011-10-15
  7. "Best Buy Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Great benefits, fun team to work with.

    Cons

    Plan on working all holidays with vacation blackout periods.

    Advice to Management

    Offer some limited time off benefits for long-term employees during holiday season.

    Best Buy2010-06-21
Found 7 reviews