Best Buy Counter Intelligence Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Counter Intelligence Agent Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "A Place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Aurora, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    good pay, good benefits, plenty of training available both at the job and from home, access to HR support from home

    Cons

    no set schedule, but thats retail, according to state law, no lunch unless your scheduled for more than 7 hours

    Advice to Management

    keep on recognising the wins that come from each employee's efforts, make time for the team members to get the training required

    Best Buy2012-05-14
  2. "Good people low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Counter Intelligence Agent 

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      I worked with some of the most knowledgeable and caring individuals.

      Cons

      The low pay and the constant irregular hours.

      Best Buy2019-02-22
    • "Geek squad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in North Chattanooga, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Gain experience in my field of study while in school

      Cons

      I do not wish to state negative comments about previous employers

      Advice to Management

      Treat women and men equally

      Best Buy2015-11-13
    • "It was okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Grand Island, NE
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      coworkers were a blast, the management was fun outside of work

      Cons

      I'm not a fan of retail, not really my thing I found out.

      Advice to Management

      Just listen to your employees please.

      Best Buy2015-07-08
    • "Fun and Fast Paced, But Management Often Unwilling to Work With You"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Madison, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Lots of fun. Extremely fast paced. Always things to get done.

      Cons

      High turn over of management staff. Some management staff will make accommodation you for personal life events but not everyone will. Required to work the day after Thanksgiving starting as early as 7PM on Thanksgiving.

      Advice to Management

      Take more time to get to know your employees. They have valuable insight. Work with the employees who work hard and try to accommodate them when possible.

      Best Buy2012-09-11
    • "Not very happy with the experience as a whole"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Norridge, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy

      Pros

      The discount offered by best buy was fair. There was a small opportunity for a bonus quarterly. There was a wide range of age groups that you worked with and gained knowledge with each of those.

      Cons

      Never provided the tools needed to perform your job. Trying to repair PCs that customers pay for, feel like a criminal asking for money within a certain time frame. Managers care more about having you sell than having you repair computers. Bad reputation for the company. No room to advance as a repair technician, sales persons would move into your senior management spots with no clue as to what they're doing, this was...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your people, not just the representatives you have speak for the people. When a technician needs a tool to get his job done, don't make it a back breaking experience. I asked for a new set of tools 9 months before I quit, and they were not even ordered by the time i gave my 2 week notice.

      Best Buy2009-11-16
    • "Geek Sqaud"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Duluth, MN
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy

      Pros

      It's fun and having Geek Squad on my resume has won me more interviews than anything else.

      Cons

      It can be pretty busy and always understaffed, which is annoying.

      Advice to Management

      Don't play favorites

      Best Buy2009-03-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "My 2 cents on BestBuy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Gatineau, QC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Working at BestBuy will definitely get you into the future. You will learn a lot about electronics and such, if you are, of course, willing to learn and inform yourself a little outside of work. Working for the GeekSquad will get you to fall in love with the IT/IM environment! You can expect to learn how to fix most of the hardware and software crisis. Working on 20~ computers per day will make you some kind of an...

      Show More

      Cons

      The biggest inconvenient at BestBuy would definitely be the training. By that, I mean that, if you are not a fast pace learner and if you don't like being in the hot water, you won't make it. You start right away and there is a lot to learn. No knowledge check is done, other than having a mentor with you when it's not too busy, which rarely happens.

      Advice to Management

      Please try to give basic workshops and specific training for newer employees. It's important to understand what you are doing and why you are doing it, and not just do it because the "boss" said so. Taking time to train your employees will greatly increased the number of successful careers at BestBuy. Just my 2 cents!

      Best Buy2019-02-07
    • "Hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Ottawa, ON

        I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good working environment , good ambience

        Cons

        Non cooperative management , biased reviews about employees

        Best Buy2018-10-19
      • Helpful (2)

        "So many years with nothing to show, Future Shop was better."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Geek Squad Counter Intelligence Agent CIA in Halifax, NS
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Employee purchase, staff discounts, employed, decent benefits for full time employees, building is warm, clearance pricing, pretend that they don't want you working off the clock

        Cons

        There are several that I don't want to mention at this time, even though they don't officially give references, it is a retail environment so know that there will be shifts and hours can be hard to come by.

        Advice to Management

        Again, several things I want to write but don't want any kickback if it's ever found out who wrote this, will just say hire people that want to learn and work and have experience over youth and low wages.

        Best Buy2016-12-24
      Found 12 reviews