Best Buy Customer Service Representative I Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Customer Service Representative I Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2013

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "AMAZING place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent management, employee discount, fun place to work, and you get trained and stay up to date on electronics! At least at my store, they really work with your schedule, let you take days off for things like concerts if you as in advance, no problem with schedule switching, and they take to heart where you want to be in the store, and give you every tool necessary to get there.

    Cons

    Sometimes they want you to ask a little too much when it comes to helping customers.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. My management is amazing and I wouldn't change a thing.

    Best Buy2012-09-24
  2. "What you basically would expect as a cashier at a big retail store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Colma, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young, interesting, and varied set of colleagues that provided for an entertaining backdrop to an otherwise mediocre to average retail job. Supervisors were unexpectedly friendly, easygoing, and encouraging.

    Cons

    In general, this same set of young colleagues are understandably unfocused, uncommitted, and detached when it comes to company and store goals and outlook. These folks are, for the most part, in customer service purgatory as they finish college and/or find and move on to something better. This attitude resonates throughout the store and negatively affects workplace morale. Of course, all this can probably be said for...

    Show More
    Best Buy2013-02-01
  3. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Kildeer, IL

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts and starting hourly part time pay

    Cons

    Terrible employee treatment, very slow moving vertically

    Best Buy2013-01-09
  4. "My experience with Best Buy has been very negative."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Clackamas, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I work with are amazing. They treat me with respect and understand I have a life outside work.

    Cons

    No room for advancement. not enough opportunities to be full time.

    Advice to Management

    Really my advice would be to corporate, put things back the way they were 3 years ago and it might improve.

    Best Buy2012-08-07
  5. "An okay transitional job going through school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family environment. Provides for a great interaction with people. This company is aldo a great start for anyone who desires to learn basic selling skills and techniques.

    Cons

    Very Redundant. Quotas are pushed without commission. Management can be extremely young and inexperienced. The hours given can also be very eradic

    Advice to Management

    Need to be trained on how to interact with employees. The hiring process. an be extremely political ad well. There is also a grave lack of development for dmployees looking to advance within the store.

    Best Buy2012-07-31
  6. "A great experience that allowed me to refine my retail skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands on/ involved corporate worked closely with employees

    Cons

    Grew to fast to keep up with itself

    Advice to Management

    Make the shopping experience more personable

    Best Buy2012-07-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Best Buy is definitely the Discount also there are Nice employees,Clean Offices, and Advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Best Buy is Such a big company that there is alot of misinformation and alot of pissed off customers too many 3rd party contractors Such a big company you dont have a voice

    Advice to Management

    Advice I would give to the management is to listen more to the people on the front line and get company wide information out as quickly as possible

    Best Buy2011-08-14
  8. "Pleasant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Centennial, CO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    The management and other employees were very pleasant

    Cons

    The store was very very slow at times

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Best Buy2011-06-06
  9. "Unrealistic Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Phoenix, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Good Discount, Good Pay, Somewhat flexible work hours if you are part time.

    Cons

    Horrible Management, Unreasonable Expectations, They don't value your input.

    Advice to Management

    Be more appreciative of your employees, they are the ones that hold the company together.

    Best Buy2010-07-04
  10. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative I in
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been fortunate as Best Buy is only my second job, and it is my second job where I get along with everyone and we have a really great team. Our specific store is what the company is now calling a "Community Store", so it's a bit smaller than your average Best Buy, and not as busy.

    Cons

    As great as it is to work at my specific location, hours suck for part timers, which is the majority of our staff, thanks to the lower foot traffic in the store and our lack of sales in our Geek Squad protection plans department. Although we THANKFULLY aren't micromanaged nor paid on commissions like most electronic retailers, there are many moments when I feel that they might as well be paying us on commission. There...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Less emphasis and over-training on Geek Squad Black Tie Protection and Best Buy Credit Cards!

    Best Buy2012-06-10
Found 10 reviews