Best Buy Denver Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
5 Ratings
  1. "Good people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Theater Sales Associate in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good sales work.

    Cons

    Management changed alot, and some were less then ideal, but its in a good place now.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2020-04-15
  2. "Good- For Retail"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Freight Dispatcher in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, discount, people, jeans, consistency

    Cons

    Holiday hours, Bonus structure, pressure, communication and leadership

    Best Buy2020-02-04
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid benefits and culture, great discounts and perks

    Cons

    Like any retail environment, management can be terrible

    Best Buy2020-01-23
  4. "Great job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gaming Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to talk about games all day

    Cons

    The pay was minimal and retail hours are not great

    Best Buy2019-12-11
  5. "Good, fun job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great supervisor, Good hours, Fun team

    Cons

    Long hours on the truck nights, Really towards holidays. Be a team member or may be dismissed from the job.

    Best Buy2019-11-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good ol' boys club"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, not just for full time employees either. The discount is great, but only on certain items.

    Cons

    They expect a lot more out of you. Not just as a manager, but the line levels too. That, in itself, isn't a bad thing. The bad thing is that they pay you less than competitors like Target do, while expecting a ton more out of you. They recently changed the bonus structure. They framed it as they were going to make the budgets easier, but made the different tiers of bonuses higher. That was a lie. Budgets did not change, but they sure did make it harder to hit the bonus. Took a 30% pay cut year over year just because of that, which was a big part in why I decided to leave. That combined with the lack of upward mobility as well. The company is one giant good ol' boys club. It isn't really what you know but who you know. If you are not in the club, there is a limit to what you can do within the company. I have seen them move mountains to give jobs to people that didn't deserve it because they were in the club. Also, if you are not in the club and upset someone that is in the club, prepare to watch your career get destroyed. I personally witnessed this happen to several good employees only because they did not suck up enough. Maybe it was just in the districts I worked in, may not be that way everywhere else. Moved on to another company that cares about performance and the employee more.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-09-30
  7. "Great for retail"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Expert in Westminster, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount, flexible hours, strong company culture

    Cons

    Management doesn’t know what “leadership” is so employee experience varies wildly by store as company values are not translated to practical managing skills

    Best Buy2019-09-05
  8. "Best Buy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy Sales Associate in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    Bad management system in place

    Best Buy2019-07-10
  9. "Awesome culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were amazing. I enjoyed selling to people. Most of management was awesome.

    Cons

    There were a few managers that I felt were overly picky and hard on my about my sales numbers and cleaning. Sometimes you have to deal with really rude customers.

    Best Buy2019-06-07
  10. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, great company

    Cons

    No work life balance anymore.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-05-09
Found 107 reviews