Best Buy Reviews in Des Moines, IA | Glassdoor

Best Buy Des Moines Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Mobile Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Sales Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Great Team Everyone is like a big Family

    Cons

    no Cons At the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good work

    Best Buy2016-08-08
  2. "Project Team Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Team Supervisor in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, Very liberal views, Fair compensation, Company has a general interest in the well being of its employees, almost always action taken off of internal "evoice" results.

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance, For a technology company sometimes seems we are behind the "8ball" when it comes to the tech. that we use.

    Best Buy2018-04-24
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is pretty laid back and fun. If you have an awesome boss, you can take off basically whenever you want, if you work hard and earn it. Best Buy has some nice benefits and decent employee discounts depending on the item

    Cons

    Pay isn't great unless you're still living with your parents/not paying rent. You're required to work holidays and not allowed to take off work around this time

    Advice to Management

    Have FUN while being the best...

    Best Buy2017-01-05
  4. "An amazing ride with ups and downs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Having the ability to deliver world class customer service. I loved learning about all the products so that I could recommend the right products without being biased.

    Cons

    There is most certainly a glass ceiling. If you are not one of the chosen few you will not get promoted. Regardless of how well you do.

    Advice to Management

    Truly listen to your employees. They are the pulse of the store. Their honest feedback is more valuable than you think. The employee surveys are a joke if you don't enact anything from them.

    Best Buy2016-10-25
  5. "I loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The co workers and managers are awesome! One team one dream mentality and everyone is there to achieve a common goal while having fun and being the best.

    Cons

    Working every weekend as a manager was my least favorite part of the responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    District and regional staff need to remember they were once in our position too...

    Best Buy2016-09-06
  6. "Maybe not "Best" but still Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Sales Associate in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive wages for retail, good bonuses, accessible management, opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Unmotivated co-workers, unnecessarily complex system for orders and adding services to them

    Advice to Management

    It's tough in a company this size but try and be as transparent as possible. Keep empowering your people to do their best work.

    Best Buy2016-06-20
  7. "Headphone Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had great coworkers who were very knowledgable in each of their sections. Best Buy was constantly looking for ways to improve so I felt like I was able to become more and more effective at my job.

    Cons

    The sales goals/requirements didn't seem to match what could reasonably be expected. The goals were quantitative as opposed to qualitative measures they didn't seem to be in the best interest of the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality of work not quantity and the results will be much better.

    Best Buy2016-02-13
  8. "Fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy Sales Associate in Des Moines, IA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning experiences. Some leadership listens. Great discount! A lot off of accessories have a great if not wonderful discount. Easy and laid back

    Cons

    Your Hours have too much or too little no middle man in that. The scheduler can make it so your late sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees have some great ideas!

    Best Buy2015-07-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership. Very good benefits such as tuition reimbursement and 401k match. Have access to all the newest technology. Good opportunities for advancement for those that try for it.

    Cons

    The only bad thing that i can think of is that it is retail so you will be expected to work holidays and weekends

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for management at this time. May update this in the future if i find something that is pressing

    Best Buy2015-07-10
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary is good, People are great

    Cons

    Hours and Job Security, Eliminate jobs A LOT

    Advice to Management

    Examine all the leadership that you are elimnating

    Best Buy2014-04-12
Found 11 reviews