Best Buy Reviews in Des Moines, IA | Glassdoor

Best Buy Des Moines Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Mobile Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Sales Consultant in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Great Team Everyone is like a big Family

    Cons

    no Cons At the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good work

    Best Buy2016-08-08
  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Ankeny, IA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Environment team members benefits time

    Cons

    Systems dont always meet needs

    Advice to Management

    Work on the systems

    Best Buy2018-08-27
  3. "Project Team Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Team Supervisor in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, Very liberal views, Fair compensation, Company has a general interest in the well being of its employees, almost always action taken off of internal "evoice" results.

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance, For a technology company sometimes seems we are behind the "8ball" when it comes to the tech. that we use.

    Best Buy2018-04-24
  4. "okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount after 60 days

    Cons

    no time off around holidays, working thanksgiving, black friday

    Advice to Management

    Need more training and dont overwork seasonal and part time help

    Best Buy2018-01-11
  5. "Customer Service - Better Retail Store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    For retail, Best Buy is one of the better stores to work at. The better there are interesting and fun to interact with, and the work you'll be doing isn't as brain dead as some other places. Pay is decent for retail. If you're truly looking to stay within the business and go up the latter, it isn't hard.

    Cons

    If you're going into customer service to truly be customer service, this might not be the role for you. Our job is to assist customers with issues, but really, we also have to sell product warranty. It's not as aggressive as other places, but it still takes the focus away from actually helping customers.

    Advice to Management

    Divide customer service and cashier/selling. Those who want to just cashier and sell should be one employed role, and those who want to provide actual customer service should be another role.

    Best Buy2017-10-16
  6. "It was a revolving door type of job with pretty incompetent management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service/Cashier in West Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers were easy to deal with. The employee discount was decent on accessories.

    Cons

    Management, management, management. They wouild change your hours without notification.

    Best Buy2017-05-25
  7. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is pretty laid back and fun. If you have an awesome boss, you can take off basically whenever you want, if you work hard and earn it. Best Buy has some nice benefits and decent employee discounts depending on the item

    Cons

    Pay isn't great unless you're still living with your parents/not paying rent. You're required to work holidays and not allowed to take off work around this time

    Advice to Management

    Have FUN while being the best...

    Best Buy2017-01-05
  8. "An amazing ride with ups and downs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Having the ability to deliver world class customer service. I loved learning about all the products so that I could recommend the right products without being biased.

    Cons

    There is most certainly a glass ceiling. If you are not one of the chosen few you will not get promoted. Regardless of how well you do.

    Advice to Management

    Truly listen to your employees. They are the pulse of the store. Their honest feedback is more valuable than you think. The employee surveys are a joke if you don't enact anything from them.

    Best Buy2016-10-25
  9. "I loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The co workers and managers are awesome! One team one dream mentality and everyone is there to achieve a common goal while having fun and being the best.

    Cons

    Working every weekend as a manager was my least favorite part of the responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    District and regional staff need to remember they were once in our position too...

    Best Buy2016-09-06
  10. "Sales lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead in Ankeny, IA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work, good training program

    Cons

    Little room to advance.

    Best Buy2016-08-16
Found 26 reviews