Best Buy Development Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Developer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Good company, latest technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer - Java Developer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I have been able to grow professionally a lot at Best Buy and have worked with some of the smartest people here. They use a lot of the latest technologies and have a great culture despite their large size. I feel like the managers and directors really do care about you here

    Cons

    Honestly it's just the commute for me that is making me consider a different company to work for

    Best Buy2019-04-25
  2. "Great place to work and learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good vibe in the Seattle office Friendly environment So diversify, with a lot of talented people from all over the world

    Cons

    Some peers constant distract you by going a chat to your desk

    Advice to Management

    Better to track the work of some PMs (Especially contractors) Some of them show up by 11 and leave by 3pm, don't know if maybe they get pay part-time. :S

    Best Buy2019-04-03
  3. "Great for Mobile App Developers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Applications Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    The Seattle office where most of the mobile developers are located has a lot of autonomy and is very developer friendly. The product managers and developers work well together and the expectations are reasonable. The people are fun, kind, and smart. Every person will drop what they're doing to help and its embedded in the culture. They invest in new employees because they fully intend to bring them in long term. I can't...

    Show More

    Cons

    Can be too enterprisey usually in small ways such as unnecessarily strict Wi-Fi settings, the bureaucracy of a strong organization structure, and features coming down from above.

    Advice to Management

    You have a good thing going and it shows in the quality of the product, loosen up a little.

    Best Buy2018-10-15
  4. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Challenging environment, Great environment, Knowledgable collegues

    Cons

    Changing requirements, etc., unrealistic deadline.

    Best Buy2018-04-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Techology Center- Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people with great ambitions

    Cons

    Highly Toxic Environment Dishonest leadership Constant stress

    Best Buy2017-10-03
  6. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good team and good payroll.

    Cons

    contract roles and budget issues.

    Best Buy2017-08-09
  7. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The benefits are good here.

    Cons

    To many fires, not enough focus on single projects. (IT Department)

    Best Buy2017-02-27
  8. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Java Developer in Minneapolis, MN

      I have been working at Best Buy for more than a year

      Pros

      Atmosphere at bestbuy is very friendly

      Cons

      Deployment schedules are little stingent

      Best Buy2015-05-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Current status = poor. Outlook = hopeful, but likely to get a lot worse before it gets any better."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front End Developer in Richfield, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy for more than 2 years

      Pros

      If you can be part of the turn around, I'd imagine there will be great opportunity.

      Cons

      -Declining business model -Technical Debt -Corporate politics and in-fighting -Silo'd teams -Loss of remote work -Declining work environment -Platform and technology focus that is years out of date -Product data is horrible

      Advice to Management

      Unite your departments, catch up you platform including social marketing and data availability. Fix the in store experience, no one wants kids pushing sales and warranties. Embrace the fact that you've become a show room, forget the idea of competing with Amazon in the online space(you can't) Make your product data your selling point, it is your only marketable service at this point.

      Best Buy2013-03-14
    • "Great opportunity for growth and development, but hard to move to different area"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Designer Developer in Richfield, MN
      Recommends
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy

      Pros

      The culture is great - respectful of people, open communication, great work-life balance. Lots of opportunities to connect with others. Learning and development is encouraged.

      Cons

      Once you get "pegged" in a certain field it is difficult to move out into a different field. The top leaders are too easily swayed into making poor decisions for the company and try to be something for for everyone (which means they have lost their focus).

      Advice to Management

      Stick with a strategy and a vision. Create a strong domestic reputation before you move internationally. Go back to being "the latest and greatest" rather than the "good follower".

      Best Buy2012-02-21
    Found 14 reviews