Best Buy Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Director Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Director 

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Paid very well, high for the area

    Cons

    long hours, and sometimes terrible culture

    Best Buy2019-02-08
  2. "The Digital/Dotcom group was a great place to work before everyone left to work at Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Director 

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great engineering incl. the scale and challenge to make it fun

    Cons

    The company has no idea how valuable the E-Commerce portion is; if they would just focus on the E-Commerce and automated fulfillment ~ supply chain ... time will tell but this could be a real missed opportunity depending on what happens during the next retail downturn.

    Best Buy2019-09-10
  3. "Relationship driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee focused, good benefits, and relationship driven

    Cons

    Hard to get work done if you don't have established relationships

    Best Buy2019-04-24
  4. "Excellent environment for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In my many years at Best Buy, I've been amazed at the caliber of people with whom I work. Team members bring an enormous amount of passion to the work they do, and Best Buy leadership shows it cares for its employees through good pay and benefits - and continual review so that we can do our best to deliver an excellent employee experience.

    Cons

    Super fast-paced and can be overwhelming at times - but if you focus, have a willingness to learn and contribute, and can find the ability to enjoy the ride, you'll be here as long as I have - or longer! I'm truly grateful.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your employees' bandwidth and energy - and your own. We're all driving to great outcomes, but need space to breathe.

    Best Buy2019-02-26
  5. "Truly the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Outstanding leadership team! Clear vision and purpose. Lives the values.

    Cons

    Getting better at agility, but could take more risks and learn through controlled failure.

    Advice to Management

    Create opportunities for your brightest employees.

    Best Buy2017-10-19
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People work with their heart here and give everything for the company. The passion in infectious. Its hardwork but very motivating

    Cons

    Not experimenting with new things and fear of failure

    Advice to Management

    Its ok to try and fail rather than not trying

    Best Buy2017-10-19
  7. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall, the culture is good and current leadership keeps the teams focused.

    Cons

    It has become a large and bureaucratic organization.

    Best Buy2017-10-11
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Business Relationship Management in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and willingness to do what it takes to win.

    Cons

    Still in transition into a true digital powerhouse retailer.

    Best Buy2017-05-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Director in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -World class corporate campus -Most of the employees are wonderful people -Senior leadership truly is working very hard to turn the company around -Employee discount, especially vendor accommodations, is wonderful

    Cons

    - Most hourly store employees are paid so little they can't truly leverage the discount (most items they can afford can be found online for even less than the discount) - At corporate there are many, many leaders who grew up in the company and k ow full well they will be unable to find similar paying jobs elsewhere. So, they do everything they can to knock you down so they look good. -Most (but not all) leaders in... HR are some of the least competent and unethical leaders you will ever meet -The increase in the stock price is not indicative of store sales growth (online sales are increasing, store sales are not) -Other companies in other industries do not look favorably upon retail experience -While lay can be quite competitive if bonus is hit, you must work for an entire year before you will learn if you were even paid at the medium level for the entire year (I.e., bonus is too heavily leveraged) -I just don't see how Best Buy remains relevant in an Amazon age

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing with the limited profits the company can make in an ever changing retail industry

    Best Buy2017-01-02
  10. "Fast pace, exciting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director of Information Technology in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really fun and interesting work, you will get good experience working here. They have a great campus with amazing amenities. Nice workout facility. Free parking.

    Cons

    Lack of work life balance. I had a terrible boss, but he was not the norm. I can't think of any other cons to write about.

    Best Buy2016-12-12
Found 51 reviews