Best Buy Reviews in Elkridge, MD | Glassdoor

Best Buy Elkridge Reviews

Updated 26 May 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

1.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Elkridge, MD

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for management and hourly associates. Very employee driven and excellent pay for hourly associates. Upper management encourages a healthy work life balance while actively supporting professional development.

    Cons

    Hard to accurately measure associates performance.

    Best Buy2014-02-08
  2. "Enjoyable, experience l."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Elkridge, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organized and well managed. People were great, store was clean. Enjoyed talking to customers. Fellow co-workers were nice as well.

    Cons

    No room for moving up. Not many opportunities for getting better positions. Although it is fun working with customers some of them have no idea what they want.

    Advice to Management

    Give us more opportunities!

    Best Buy2017-05-26
  3. "No better part time job, no worse full time job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elkridge, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount and good products.

    Cons

    Mgmt communicates poorly and infrequently. Goals (particularly sales goals) are either set incorrectly or not set at all, then are enforced erratically or not at all. Very, very little consistency. Specifically, I found that the mgmt either did not know how to use my position or ignored the rules and instructed me to handle duties outside of the position description THAT WAS AGREED UPON WITH LG.

    Advice to Management

    Set proper goals, communicate them clearly, and don't break contracts with your vendors.

    Best Buy2017-05-17
  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Specialist in Elkridge, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    able to make your own decisions

    Cons

    Being overridden alot. Chances for moving up are extremely slim

    Advice to Management

    Follow company policies more.

    Best Buy2016-02-02
  5. "Great when you are in College!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Elkridge, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/school balance. I can easily go to school, taking 7 classes as well at work 30+ hours a week, definitely does pay off. And very nice benefits, such as product discounts!

    Cons

    Hard to transfer from one department to another. Holidays suck.... If you want to enjoy your holidays then don't work here.

    Best Buy2015-10-15
  6. "It was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inventory Specialist in Elkridge, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Was a fun team environment

    Cons

    Schedule times vary, must work holidays

    Best Buy2014-12-18
  7. "A great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MCSA Supervisor in Elkridge, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules Fun environment to work in Advancement opportunities largely available

    Cons

    Stressful holiday seasons Frustrating customer issues

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget how it felt when you were a line-level employee.

    Best Buy2013-05-08
Found 7 reviews