Best Buy Reviews in Eugene, OR | Glassdoor

Best Buy Eugene Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Fun place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Springfield, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    The people are awesome to work with.

    Cons

    The store can get kind of noisy.

    Advice to Management

    More badminton.

    Best Buy2009-04-18
  2. "Customer Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Springfield, OR

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Position was straight forward with very small learning curve. Great extra money job while in school.

    Cons

    Manager often acted immature and acted like a playground bully. Wouldn't offer constructive criticism but rather put you down and acted like you were incompetent.

    Best Buy2018-02-10
  3. "Computer Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Supervisor in Springfield, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers, customers and business's willingness to adapt to a changing market.

    Cons

    Days can be draining and upper management will have ideas that don't necessarily translate down to stores.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to local management.

    Best Buy2018-01-22
  4. "good if you are in college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    enjoyed the environment and the people

    Cons

    poor hours and poor support, no real motivation to do better due to management

    Advice to Management

    need better add-ons for bonuses

    Best Buy2016-10-20
  5. "Good for a start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Expert in Springfield, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent hours and a fun environment make for a good first job. Training is encouraged and made easily available.

    Cons

    Commission based tracking without the benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Stop heavily tracking individual sales.

    Best Buy2016-06-15
  6. "Employee Oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Sales Consultant in Springfield, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in, low sales pressure and focus on customer satisfaction

    Cons

    Compensation can be unmotivating when told to reach a sales goal

    Advice to Management

    Provide more incentive to reach sales targets

    Best Buy2014-11-13
  7. "Great for College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Springfield, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The hours allow you to go to school and make some money on the side while getting a killer discount

    Cons

    You have to deal with managers that are forced to micromanage

    Advice to Management

    There is not much to do better when you are herding a bunch of cats, but treating employees that are not commission like they are is nonsense.

    Best Buy2014-07-13
  8. "Every man/woman for yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Springfield, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy helping customers find what they need without having to make a second trip.

    Cons

    The company acts like they care about other things than attaching their protection plans, but in reality if you work there you'll realize the truth. I've even heard supervisors tell employees it's ok to sell the customer a cheaper product (even if it doesn't fit their needs), so they can afford the extended "warranty." If you have morals, I would work elsewhere.

    Best Buy2014-03-31
  9. "Computer Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Specialist in Springfield, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, Learning about newest products

    Cons

    Barely above minimum average pay, Getting reamed by management for not hitting numbers, Store was completely micromanaged, promoted by seniority and not by work ethic or dedication to the job, Not a inviting environment, I personally was poorly trained as well before they put me on the floor.

    Advice to Management

    There are too many to list but treating your employees better so there isn't consistent turnover is a good start.

    Best Buy2013-05-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Solid Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Springfield, OR

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love technology and creating solutions for customers while creating a great experience for them.

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals and lever polling to generate results.

    Best Buy2012-07-13
Found 13 reviews