Best Buy Reviews in Evansville, IN | Glassdoor

Best Buy Evansville Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Newburgh, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Best job I have ever held!

    Cons

    I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this company!

    Best Buy2015-07-08
  2. "The best in retail, but some things need changing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Home Expert in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO is very generous for full time positions (88 hours first year, then goes up from there). Tuition reimbursement up to $3.5k. Really nice discount on certain items. Health benefits are middle of the road but better then nothing. 401k options as well.

    Cons

    Bonus structure has changed which takes away quite a bit of money. Expected to work like a commissioned sales person (daily metrics tracking on everything) without proper compensation. Holiday blackout hours are frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Vet your leadership more within the store. Redo the learning network training. It's outdated and we learn more in YouTube videos then we do company training. Most importantly, figure out a better compensation program. We have no problem busting our butts to hit sales goals, just pay us to do so.

    Best Buy2019-02-03
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy, and not complicated to work

    Cons

    Customers can be rude

    Advice to Management

    listen to college employees time sots.

    Best Buy2018-03-03
  4. "Family Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Evansville, IN

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's like a family environment. Enjoy going to work everyday. People we work with are very supportive and encouraging.

    Cons

    Hours can be hard to come by in the slow season. Not all customers are the nicest when working at customer service, but that is normal when dealing with customer issues.

    Advice to Management

    I enjoy working here and don't have any suggestions on changes.

    Best Buy2017-01-16
  5. "Good for learning basic sales techniques and electronics knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back with lots of independence You get to learn about all sorts of neat electronics Great culture because you work with like minded people

    Cons

    Management focuses too much on unimportant sales metrics Management doesn't set a good example because they're always stressed

    Advice to Management

    Stop sitting at the answer centers on the computer and help our your store associates. Give out path to excellence points when you promise them. Provide more incentives to sell.

    Best Buy2014-03-30
  6. "Great first sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaches basic selling skills, electronics knowledge, and customer service. Great culture because you work with like minded people with similar interests

    Cons

    Management and everything about management. They're always stressed, don't provide decent incentives, and do less work than every single sales associate.

    Advice to Management

    Provide incentives to sales associates, give P2E when you promise to do it, don't sit at the answer center and gripe, talk to customers instead of complaining

    Best Buy2014-03-30
  7. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Been with Best Buy for over a decade. A very fulfilling place to work where culture and development are extremely important. Great people, good management, and strong values have driven the company for years.

    Cons

    It's retail, and unfortunately consumer electronics. Brick and mortar stores are finding it harder and harder to stay relevant. Unfortunately this means less focus on culture and development and more focus on reducing overhead. More emphasis on increasing sales with less resources (staff, leadership, etc.). It is extremely hard to keep loyal employees with no chance of development. Simply no where to grow anymore...

    Advice to Management

    It gets really old when you have to read about eminent layoffs in the media. Totally agree with strategies and the need to cut operational costs, but do we really need to stress our store level employees for 2-4 weeks every year without knowing details? Only to read about the decisions on the internet before employees are informed of potential cuts?

    Best Buy2014-03-03
  8. "It was awful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The pay was decent.

    Cons

    I hated working at Best Buy. They had some issues with gender equality. All females worked at cash registers. All males worked in sales. They force you to show up at 7:00 am on occasional Saturdays for stupid training.

    Best Buy2014-02-25
  9. "Have fun, train yourself, and don't let other disgruntled employees bring you down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Associate in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for a first job Many roles provided a holistic experience Provided some leadership opportunities, but held back by the frequency of these opportunities Meaningful employee/customer relationships and solution building experiences

    Cons

    No clear career path Lack of role clarity diminishes potential within each department/store Leadership/employees alike are activiely disengaged Competency issues and untrained staff lead to unwanted outcomes

    Advice to Management

    Cross-functional teams are a must to push through the grey area Outdated systems for such a "tech" savvy store layout Big box must change to remain relevant in this industry

    Best Buy2012-10-10
  10. "No room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAS Lead Sales Consultant in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It's a laid back place to work for the most part.

    Cons

    It's a college job with few chances to advance.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Best Buy2012-09-05
Found 11 reviews