Best Buy Geek Squad Covert Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Geek Squad Covert Agent Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people, and great culture. I worked my way up from a Geek Squad precinct in the store and learned a ton along the way. Has programs that can help you grow as a person while helping others.

    Cons

    The only downside I can think of is the pay. You have to remember that this is a retail company first and foremost, so you will not make what other techs in other companies will (though GS is one of the better paying segments of the company).

    Advice to Management

    Give Agents the freedom to choose and develop processes for themselves. We need be creative with the ways that we interact with our clients to keep them happy and coming back

    Best Buy2015-08-30
  2. "Great retail company to work for... yearly restructuring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Nice Discount.. fairly flexible hours.

    Cons

    Job stability. Long holiday hours.

    Best Buy2018-06-23
  3. "Great place to work for entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent 

    I worked at Best Buy part-time

    Pros

    My direct supervisor and my co-workers is a solid team and friendly. I received great amount of employee discounts

    Cons

    no benefit other than my hourly pay

    Best Buy2018-01-16
  4. "Geeksquad: Good pay, but surprise lay offs,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent in Greenville, NC

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - pay is nationally competitive - work was meaningful, and good - great employyed

      Cons

      - no job security lay offs seem random

      Advice to Management

      stop outsourcing remote support, it will hurt you long term.

      Best Buy2017-08-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Just a Stepping Stone; Not a Career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Ability to work from home. - "Culture" may make working and pay more appealing. - Colleagues are great. - Alright 401K and benefits options. - Employee discount is almost worth it for some electronics. - A lot to be learned through troubleshooting and repairing client devices while working.

      Cons

      - Pay not anywhere near competitive. - Hours can range from 36 to mandatory 50 per week. - Very little room for advancement as an agent. - Certifications and prior education do not factor into pay or any other qualifications. - Employees are regularly asked for advice about what they can do to make working for Best Buy a more enjoyable and fulfilling experience. The advice is discussed and then nothing is changed.

      Advice to Management

      While "culture" is great and all, attempting to invest in your employees or even acknowledging the bi-annual survey results would be a step in the right direction.

      Best Buy2016-05-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good for now. Long term success of company is questionable."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent in Richfield, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Work from home. Good colleagues. Full benefits package and good pay if you live in an area with a cheap cost of living.

      Cons

      No advancement opportunities. Bloated and untrained middle management. Silly cost cutting to boost stock at expense of customer service and quality.

      Advice to Management

      Stop outsourcing repair and dispatch work to third party and overseas companies. Client experience suffers and we lose what made us the best. Train your managers to lead and not just manage. Please spin Geek Squad off rather than let it sink with the rest of the company.

      Best Buy2014-06-22
    • "Geek Squad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent in Williston, VT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Geek Squad has an amazing culture with managers who really car and coworkers who are friendly and willing to help

      Cons

      expectations are extremely high for what we are paid to do

      Advice to Management

      Don't force us to do stuff not in out Job code

      Best Buy2014-05-17
    • "Geek Squad Covert Double Agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geek Squad Covert Double Agent in Mission Viejo, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Good pay when starting off. Best buy discounts. A lot of company equipment like cell phone, VW bug, and a corporate laptop.

      Cons

      Sometimes they focus on numbers too much. Client's will call you on your off hours. You hit a pretty high ceiling and hard to move up from here.

      Advice to Management

      Care about your employees. There is so much focus on the numbers.

      Best Buy2014-02-25
    Found 8 reviews