Best Buy General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy General Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
2 Ratings
  1. "Good people mostly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy General Manager in Nashville, TN
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people who have grown with the company any truly believe in the customer and associate experience. A lot of great perks as you build relations with the electronic vendors

    Cons

    Hours for leaders are a challenge. No desire for work/life balance. Slow weeks were 50+ hours. Some leaders care more about attaching products than serving customers

    Best Buy2016-12-09
  2. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy General Manager in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Total Comp is amazing ,you have the Freedom to get job done, peers are awesome for the most part, employee discount is ridiculous , culture has kept me here for 6+ years.

    Cons

    Frequent changes in work environment to meet the needs of a ever changing customer and market, both good and bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Pay us or the competition will...

    Best Buy2016-12-02
  3. "Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy General Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Market share to be won within appliances / home delivery service and Best Buy is in line to capture.

    Cons

    IT infrastructure, supply chain and WMS need significant overhaul. Damage, shrink, and erosion of profit due to supply chain and systems will continue to hamper growth until company makes significant investments into those areas.

    Advice to Management

    Continue hard charging efforts to be front runner in home services and speed to customer. Spend some money on supply chain efficiency and WMS. Too many systems leave too much room for failure in delivering on promises.

    Best Buy2016-12-01
  4. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in State College, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The employees and customers I interacted with

    Cons

    Pay, they use the Friedman Group consulting company to teach people to be drones, salary managers work 50-70 hours a week and the district runs the stores, not the managers. Extremely micromanaged

    Advice to Management

    Before 2010 working at BBY the line level employees learned a lot about business acumen, the managers ran the departments and stores, and the employees felt like the contributed. Now it's micromanaging misery. Please drop the consulting company and go back to making employees feel valued. Prior to 2010 I would have given a 5 for my ratings

    Best Buy2016-11-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Salary, limited carrer growth in th current landscape of the company, has rebounded well from the position the company was in just a few short years ago

    Cons

    Reduced Leadership causes problems in a growing enviroment of resposibilities, they are often piling on additional requirements without supporting the labor model to accomplish the goals at hand

    Advice to Management

    Add labor back to the stores, and secondary leadership positions, in the smaller stores the requirements are become more and more unrealistic

    Best Buy2016-11-06
  6. "Never a dull moment! Fast paced and dynamic environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy General Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, personal growth oriented, dynamic but with very predictable business rhythm, service oriented, competitive pay for performance business environment

    Cons

    None. If you are a competitive individual who can keep their eye on the prize and put the customer at the center of everything you do then the world is your oyster.

    Best Buy2016-10-04
  7. "Great People...where's it all going?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store General Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Tremendous Leaders at District levels! Great LTI for GM's Flexible hours if you have your building on lockdown Win and you win!

    Cons

    Too many "Market Staff" members that add little to no value Health benefits are overpriced and cover very little some of the worst in the industry Organizational changes have left lower revenue band stores (sub 25 million) in shambles

    Advice to Management

    re-work VPL & labor models at all levels eliminate Market roles...should have DM and a DSM

    Best Buy2016-09-13
  8. "A constantly moving disorganized company that follows but never leads."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dual Store General Manager in Edison, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a GM you get great PTO benefits and the employee discount is top notch. Other than that not much else.

    Cons

    Health Benefits are terrible. Wages for staff are below average for the field and that results in below average work force.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out why the big companies we represent don't pay us enough to bolster our business.

    Best Buy2016-09-08
  9. "Great position!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in Fenton, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best Buy is a great company to work for with amazing people. They have some great training programs and really care about their employees.

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons. It's retail life and you must be able to handle that type of lifestyle.

    Best Buy2016-08-12
  10. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best in consumer electronics. Internal promotions. Full time, part time and seasonal opportunities. Industry leading induction program. Customer experience focus.

    Cons

    It is really hard to maintain a healthy work life balance at times when there are redundant requirement for the schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. We are on the right track to regain our covetted position yet again.

    Best Buy2016-08-06
Found 168 reviews