Best Buy Reviews in Hawaiian Islands | Glassdoor

Best Buy Hawaiian Islands Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Great in Hawaii"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits for part time was great, medical, dental, really great management really worked with my schedule (full time student). fun place to work

    Cons

    sales goals were sometimes difficult to reach, no commission

    Advice to Management

    management in the honolulu store is great

    Best Buy2016-09-17
  2. "Great job if you love tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You're surrounded by technology and by people just as interested in it as you are.

    Cons

    Number targets can be a pain, especially when it's crunch time and it is constantly berated at you.

    Advice to Management

    I understand metrics are an important tool to measure how well an individual is doing, but there needs to be a better way of presenting it to employees. Instead of Being Human, we're being Robotic and it hurts morale.

    Best Buy2019-05-24
  3. "Higher pressure sales than expected."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Expert in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always something to do. One of the best employee discounts out there.

    Cons

    Lots of unnecessary busy work.

    Advice to Management

    Seem to have lost sight of the big picture and have not updated with the times. Focus too much on how each individual is performing instead of how to run the business or store as a whole.

    Best Buy2019-01-22
  4. "Best Buy pretty chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service/Warehouse in Honolulu, HI

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fairly chill job depending on which department you work in and time of the year.

    Cons

    It can get boring at times

    Best Buy2018-12-05
  5. "Great part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Sales Associate in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, Flexible hours, Comfortable work environment

    Cons

    Some management, No commission, Short breaks

    Best Buy2018-05-25
  6. "Great discount!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Sales Consultant in Waipahu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount & beneficial for learning how to use all types of electronics. Plus, if you’re full-time there is a reimbursement of at least 4K.

    Cons

    Training is not as efficient but if you live in Hawaii they send you on a 4 day trip to LA for a great training experience.

    Advice to Management

    Use career pathways for students more often so that they can excel. Appreciate those that work hard and treat them with great incentives.

    Best Buy2018-02-12
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Specialist in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, you get to learn a lot of new things and the people around you are pretty nice, at least the location i worked at was.

    Cons

    A lot of the benefits they advertised while recruiting were for full timer's and best buy is stingy with offering full time positions. Management is not organized and is poor at listening.

    Best Buy2017-11-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount but bad hours

    Cons

    Bad hours and schedule flexibility

    Advice to Management

    Give more time off

    Best Buy2017-04-07
  9. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Kaneohe, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, great people. Love Technology.

    Cons

    Workload does not match the demands of customer facing retail.

    Advice to Management

    re-evaluate time management and what is being prioritized.

    Best Buy2016-08-17
  10. "Outlook on employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Waimänalo, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthy work environment. Fast past. Hospitality is amazing

    Cons

    none that I can think of.

    Best Buy2016-07-30
Found 24 reviews