Find jobs for Home Theater Sales Associate

Best Buy Home Theater Sales Associate Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
38 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Best Buy and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    good company

    Dec 28, 2020 - Home Theater Specialist in Tukwila, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good management, compensation, and benefits

    Cons

    consistent change of policies probably due to pandemic

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Love the Culture, Bestbuy ruined the Job

    Apr 29, 2021 - Home Theater Specialist in Spanish Fort, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Geeksquad is a great place to work. They pride themselves on doing the best job they can and my team in Spanish Fort worked tirelessly to deliver the best for our clients. A lot of the time bending over backwards for them. Decent pay and you work until the job is done. Which is a pro in my book and let’s not forget the bestbuy discount. I miss it everyday.

    Cons

    The management staff gets shuffled up occasionally and they are overworked. It’s clear they don’t have time to handle everything on their plate and then their only help was shifted into another position. Not a personal reflection of their management just the way the job is set up. Bestbuy was constantly reworking our hours allotted and what we could not do during the job. Micromanagement can be a huge pain.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Feeling fulfilled can be hard

    Apr 14, 2021 - Certified Home Theater in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Decent starting pay -Lots of avenues for growth -Amazing employee discount

    Cons

    Oh where to begin... -For one, your targets and goals working here rarely remain the same for long. In one breath, corporate management and store management will say "All we need is to accomplish X, above all else... once we do that we will be in the green..." Yet once employees manage to accomplish "X", you are berated for not accomplishing "Y". Shifting goalposts are common across a lot of industries and companies, but at Best Buy it's so bad it's almost comical. -The "corporatization" of Best Buy has dehumanized the experience of working there. While this, too, is common across a lot of industries and companies that doesn't mean it's a good situation or an environment that employees simply have to accept. The fact that Best Buy requires all employees to take digital trainings on how to act like a human worries me. The management of Best Buy simply isn't very "human", and managers don't get very much freedom to do what's best for their teams. -As a store employee you are expected to take the blame for customer issues that were caused at a higher level of the company. This happens at a lot of companies, but Best Buy especially seems perfectly content to waste a customer's time and money before telling that customer to simply "deal with it" if the customer wasn't given the promised level of service. This is more frustrating and painful for the sales associates than anyone else, as we often become the punching bag for mistakes we didn't make.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company

    May 1, 2021 - Home Theater Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work/life balance PTO and benefits Great developmental tools 1 on 1s and extensive training

    Cons

    Some higher level management has issues with organization and HR related problems

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    It’s not worth it

    Apr 13, 2021 - Geek Squad, Home Theater Cadet in Sandy, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only real pros from working for Best Buy are the employees, the base level employees to be specific

    Cons

    Your managers are told a directive that they must follow to perfection. They will not support you, stores have been reduced down to less than 10 employees and still expect to fulfill customer needs. As an agent, stores consistently schedule clients incorrectly. This results in us staying late almost every day to make up for it, clients are almost never given the correct time allotted for their job to be done.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good People

    Apr 21, 2021 - Home Theater Sales Associate in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work around your schedule really well if you are a student.

    Cons

    If you do well they are going to want you to work more. They will make you get credit cards or you will not get any hours.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Review

    May 9, 2021 - Home Theater Sales Consultant in Waterloo, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment when staffed correctly

    Cons

    Could get laid off just because.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    BestBuy knows you’re a human

    Apr 8, 2021 - Home Theater Sales Associate in Anderson, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Such great people to work with! They have incredible benefits for full-time and part-time, including outreach support for mental health and a base start pay of $15 for every employee.

    Cons

    Unfortunately they let a lot of people in the company go in February ‘21 due to ‘business restructuring’, so they may not have many positions available at their locations right now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Part Time Job

    Mar 21, 2021 - Home Theater Sales Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This position really requires you to think, understand the products and relate to the customers to ensure they get what is best for them. The company does an excellent job training employees on their products. One doesn't have to be an expert or even know anything about TVs, sound systems, or sales to get this job. As long as you are willing to follow and understand the training and most importantly have a desire to work in sales you will be given everything you need to succeed. The job is not commissioned based so there is no concern about lost income if a sale taken by someone else or an installer changes the order. Most of the store-level management had started out as entry-level employees, which is great that Best Buys promotes from within. I believe they also offer education benefits.

    Cons

    Most days I thought I worked at a credit card company that just so happened to sell electronics. My biggest complaint is that installations is one of their biggest money makers but is not well streamlined and can be confusing to the customers. While supposedly customers can have an installer give an estimate (site survey) no information is sent back to the store or written information given to the customer. To make things worse if a customer decides to get an install but makes any changes when the installer is at their home, I would lose credit for the install because Best Buy has not created a system to track on site changes to link them back to sales person. On Amazon, the same install appears to be cheaper, so even with a price match, customers would often buy from Amazon for the install alone. We are pushed to add soundbars, but after spending time to sell someone on a soundbar I now have to sell them on $50-$100 to install that soundbar.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don’t waste your time if you can

    Apr 23, 2021 - Home Theater Sales Associate in Irving, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy hours Coworkers are good people Company discount is a fair price for their garbage.

    Cons

    The Job Pays Little, Gives No Respect And When They Shut Down Your Store They Will Make Promises They Dont Keep. $2000 Of The $6000 Severence Is All I Recieved. I Was Paid To Sell Tvs But Rated On How Well I Sold Subscriptions And Credit Cards. This Company Will Either Be Online Or Out Of Business Within 2 Years And If You Work For Them They Will Do The Same For You. Do What You Have to but don’t plan to rely on the “bby family”.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 482 Reviews

Popular Careers with Best Buy Job Seekers

General Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Customer Experience Specialist, Seasonal
Learn About the Job

Work at Best Buy? Share Your Experiences

or