Best Buy Reviews in Lansing, MI | Glassdoor

Best Buy Lansing Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Best Buy Bae"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Okemos, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with customers was usually very entertaining and it was a BLAST to work with everyone else who was a part of the Best Buy team. Plus, the discount is pretty lit, too ;)

    Cons

    Can't really think of any at the moment. The only thing that was annoying was when a customer would get mad at you for something that is entirely not your fault (which didn't happen to me).

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do

    Best Buy2018-01-17
  2. "Worst Job environment I Have ever been in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy job, and meh benefits.

    Cons

    -Worst Training I have ever taking They throw you on computer without any mentoring for like weeks and you gotta do those tedious E-learnings(Training modules) which is the worst E-learningsI have ever taken. Why you ask? because most of them (the 60 i took) are very useless and redundant information, and it takes years to good to the point or even the thing they should have said in e-learnings in beginning. You don't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Mentor your new hires closely, and answer any questions they have even if you think they don't. - Train them early and weave the sales floor training into the e-learnings. - Take feed back from employees especially new hires. - Make the new employees feel comfortable and belong there. - Don't look down on anyone - Stop pushing us sell credit cards so hard - Stop pushing us to sell protection so hard - Stop...

    Show More
    Best Buy2019-04-13
  3. "Great job to have through college, with a small chance for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great, understanding leadership team with interest in your own growth, good pay and great discount. Many different departments for you to be able to find your niche.

    Cons

    Sales environment without any commissioned positions. Hours around Black Friday and physical inventory days can be hectic. Expect to work on Thanksgiving and possibly Christmas Eve.

    Advice to Management

    Try to have monthly reviews with all employees to keep them informed on their performance.

    Best Buy2017-10-04
  4. "Numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Theater Sales Associate in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy sales job and good employee discounts.

    Cons

    All about the numbers. Even if you sell a lot, there is no incentive. They keep shoving numbers and CC down your throat but it's not beneficial for the employees at all...

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your team

    Best Buy2017-08-15
  5. "Fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi Channel Supervisor in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Fun, friendly, always up to date on new information. Laid back sales atmosphere since it's non commission sales makes talking to customers easier

    Cons

    Family/ life balance can be difficult because you work night's, weekends and holidays especially when you get to supervisor and above.

    Advice to Management

    Supervisors and managers should be encouraged to take vacation or have rotating weekend schedules

    Best Buy2017-07-01
  6. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Theater Sales Consultant in Eaton Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fast Paced friendly work environment. Great development. Fun place to work.

    Cons

    high turn over rate, many new employees that are not as educated.

    Advice to Management

    retain veteran members better

    Best Buy2016-12-09
  7. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Theater Sales Consultant in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    Well trained and revenue driven company whom strives for new goals daily. Constantly increasing knowledge of the latest and greatest technology.

    Cons

    You must work November and December Holidays.

    Best Buy2016-09-26
  8. "Best Place Ever. For a job at least.(Opinion)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - N/A in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    Depending on what you like doing this company has many opportunities you can capitalize on.

    Cons

    I don't think i can come up with one right now it seems extremely fun to work there for my love of computers and technology.

    Best Buy2016-09-13
  9. "Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Lead in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The people will like to have fun while working Holiday season is a BLAST Competitive pay for retail If you have a strong work ethic you can move up FAST

    Cons

    It's retail and the customers can be demanding If you become a manager, your life is Best Buy

    Best Buy2016-09-01
  10. "Great for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SWAT Specialist in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, benefits available, 401K, generous pay for retail

    Cons

    health care plans, working holidays

    Best Buy2016-07-04
Found 34 reviews