Best Buy Reviews in Madison, WI | Glassdoor

Best Buy Madison Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
1 Ratings
  1. "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apple Master in Madison, WI

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experience, interaction, growth, industry, technology

    Cons

    Management, coworkers, customers, hours, stress

    Best Buy2019-08-06
  2. "Great job and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and commision

    Cons

    There is no cons with this company great place to work for,

    Advice to Management

    Good management

    Best Buy2019-07-12
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad Advanced Repair Agent in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Willing to change to stay competitive.

    Cons

    retail environment isn't for everyone.

    Best Buy2019-04-15
  4. "Alright, Just Another Retail Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than other retail jobs I looked at. Get to see and learn about some cool new products that come onto the market.

    Cons

    The selling culture is very strange. Since ditching the commission based system, there's a push to give people what they need. However, the upper management still expects performance as if you were getting commission. And on top of that, they basically want you to sell credit cards. As time goes on you realize that it's never about giving people what they need, but seeing how many add-ons you can make a person buy.... Honestly it's a tough spot for management, the only way to make money is from add-on products and/or services since everything is vendor centered.

    Show More
    Best Buy2019-03-20
  5. "Don't work here just because you want the discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MCSA/CSS in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big discount... on products produced by BBY (Insignia, mainly) and protection. Decent pay

    Cons

    Your monthly bonus is based off of how well the store does, not the department, so there's no big incentive to help sell. The discount is non-existent for the really cool products. You are bullied into upselling Geek Squad services, which are ridiculously priced. I once had a customer get charged $100 to get a sheet of paper jammed in a printer out. I'm not kidding. Management loves their power and I've had... female coworkers be sexually harassed. HR does nothing, and it is very concerning. Most people at my store left because of management. It's incredible how quickly people forget about people who worked there a long time. If your store has a "now hiring" sign, expect to be asked to come in on your days off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit trying to be cool when corporate comes, and then go back to not caring about the customer. The most loyal customers who come back are the ones that will never forget how you treated them well at the expense of extra little revenue.

    Best Buy2019-03-12
  6. "Love working at Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Home Expert in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, great management, great corporate leadership, all around excellent place to work. Love being sent to training to learn more for my roles. Love being able to help customers find exactly what they're looking for/ need and being able to show the customer the possibilities of products.

    Cons

    I mean it's still retail.

    Best Buy2019-01-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Company for young males, gamer chicks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, great people if you have the right store, nice employee pricing

    Cons

    Low pay, innovation not welcome

    Advice to Management

    Look at experience beyond the blue shirt. Some of your best people haven't been with the company for a gazillion years.

    Best Buy2017-03-27
  8. "Gotta be in the "In Crowd""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Geek Squad Consultation Analyst in Madison, WI

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    Advancement if you know management well.

    Cons

    Very slow, if not impossible to move up with upper management connections

    Best Buy2016-02-26
  9. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sales Lead in De Forest, WI

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    Got bonuses if budgets were hit each month, and they were decent bonuses. Would also be able to see the newest technology before they came out.

    Cons

    Best Buy expects you to be a slave to them, and work whenever they need you. And clopens are always on your weekly schedule.

    Best Buy2016-02-18
  10. "Mobile Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discounts. Overall management. They do their best to keep you motivated, through long, long shifts at times.

    Cons

    Flexibility in scheduling. Middle Management not always best suited to lead a team. Pay does not change throughout tenure.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your department managers. Work better with employees. Keep up the motivation with food, drinks. Helps keep your employees in it.

    Best Buy2016-02-15
Found 29 reviews