Best Buy Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Marketing Manager

Best Buy Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated May 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Marketing manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Marketing for company and want to grow more.

    Cons

    Grow more business for the company.

    Advice to Management

    I want to continue because they are very good.

    Best Buy2019-05-10
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Account Manager 

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Love the people, the work/home life balance is great

    Cons

    you can't work from home

    Best Buy2019-03-29
  3. "Corp HQ work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large Company Good vacation, number of PTO days

    Cons

    Yearly layoffs based on changing business strategies

    Best Buy2018-01-26
  4. "Great bonuses, not so great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salaries are competitive and the bonuses are great. People are generally friendly and the atmosphere is pleasant. Pockets of talent are exceptional (but that’s definitely not the standard—there’s a big swing, talent-wise)

    Cons

    Leadership is not taking the right steps to stay competitive, and I doubt the company will make it. They need to figure out a way forward beyond just cutting margin. And they need a clearer strategy around which projects get funded, so they can focus on fewer, more strategic pilots and actually give them time to work.

    Best Buy2018-01-23
  5. "Great Place to Work. CEO's Vision is on point."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork. Flexible work environment. Loads of opportunities. Hubert Jolie is an amazing CEO and has breathed a breath of fresh air into the company. It's nice not having one of the "good ol' boys" running the show.

    Cons

    Like any large company, there is a lot of red tape that you need to navigate. There are a lot of silos - more cross-functionality would be helpful.

    Best Buy2017-05-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "You take the good, you take the bad. It's the Facts of Life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun, laid back, fast(er) paced, competitive.

    Cons

    Unorganized, lack of strategic focus, lots of red tape, old school way of thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Realize how dated the brand is and how out of touch you are with today's consumer. You have a ton of fans (including myself), but need to step up your marketing approach before it's too late. Stop being so reliant on brands and start being a leader.

    Best Buy2017-04-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to start a B2B sales career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Account Manager in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, limitless potential, BBFB is a great place to cut your teeth on sales practices, and if you do it right you can build excellent habits.

    Cons

    Senior leadership has a habit of stepping over a dollar to pick up a dime. Commission structure is annually changed, but this instability is balanced by a decent salary. The culture is a bit out of control, like a fraternity house at times, so put that into pro or con depending on your preferences.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a commission structure and stick with it. Goals change, that is expected. Leave the tables alone. Also, steal someone from CDW or another major competitor and learn some business best practices from someone who is excellent at it. With Best Buy'some infrastructure BBFB should be selling billions by now. It is poor leadership holding you back.

    Best Buy2017-01-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands off management. Flexible schedule. Corporate hours.

    Cons

    Raise quotas and there is no rhym or reason as to how you budget is set. Poor training for the job and very uneven training. It all depends on who your manager is. Favoritism is a huge issue.

    Advice to Management

    Make it an even playing field. Certain people should not get handed sales while other struggle. Actually make the budgets for the areas you are in realistic. Better training

    Best Buy2015-12-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility with your career. You can change direction and jump to an entirely different team and that is widely accepted around the company. I haven't had the same experience with past employers. If you get your foot in the door and make connections, you can transfer to a job that interests you (if your current position does not).

    Cons

    Your manager really dictates your pay. I have had crappy managers and great ones. I have had my pay increase dramatically just because my boss went to bat for me. Don't let anyone tell you they can't make it happen. They just have to fight for you.

    Best Buy2015-04-23
  10. "marketing manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great atmosphere, and overall nice people to be around.

    Cons

    budgets were stretched short so layoffs ensued

    Best Buy2014-11-17
Found 19 reviews