Best Buy Memphis Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management is flexible with my schedule being part-time with having a full-time job.

    Cons

    Lower labor hours can make for stressful periods during busy hours.

    Best Buy2019-12-21
  2. "Best Buy is a good place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Customer Sales Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work environment was exceptional.

    Cons

    Peak time can be very demanding.

    Best Buy2020-04-24
  3. "Best Buy Associate for 8 years"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some of the discounts on HDMI cables are nice. And once a year Sony or Samsung offer half off old versions of TVs.

    Cons

    Constantly cut hours, even if you get a "10" in all 5 categories ( you won't ) you'll at maximum get a .25 cent raise. I had to plead for my raise for years. Also within 6 years, I went through 5 GM's, 21 supervisors, and the turnover rate was horrible.

    Best Buy2020-02-07
  4. "Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    The culture is awesome at most stores

    Cons

    Retail is retail no matter what

    Best Buy2020-01-26
  5. "Home Theater Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Computer Security Analyst in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    was fun, I loved it. holiday season customers are just impatient, entitled, and ruthless but that's everywhere

    Cons

    short breaks, standing all day

    Best Buy2020-01-11
  6. "Just do the work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Cordova, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's really cool to work at Best Buy because of the new technology and the ability to have your own personality while at work. You meet new people, and learn alot.

    Cons

    A lot of menial and pointless tasks that no one really cares about like Laser lining. And the managers are rude to employees sometimes but that's just becasue someone above them is rude to them. GMs literally don't do anything and could care less. But you rarely run into them.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-08-22
  7. "Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the staff was a great experience. This company treated me right every day. They even saw my potential and decided to make a me a floating sales professional which was very empowering.

    Cons

    Some of the other employees were lazy, but I chose not to concern myself with what other people are doing.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-05-06
  8. "Can be good, depends on store"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Autotech in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair pay, tuition reimbursement for undergrad and graduate level

    Cons

    Inconsistent across stores, must work thanksgiving day

    Best Buy2019-05-18
  9. "Always room for growth at bestbuy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LG Experience Expert in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers and work is not difficult and pay is decent

    Cons

    Work not difficult but can get tedious

    Best Buy2019-05-02
  10. "The only big-box retailer that cares"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Southaven, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leaders that listen Excellent work-life balance Huge opportunities for advancement Active community-outreach programs Ridiculous amount of employee perks & accomodations

    Cons

    Your employment experience will vary by store More conservative-minded folk may not agree with the company's outlook

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2018-01-10
Found 42 reviews