Best Buy Reviews in Michigan | Glassdoor

Best Buy Michigan Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 284 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Corie Barry
1 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Muskegon, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time

    Pros

    Relaxed but busy atmoshere. Great team aspect. Supportive management.

    Cons

    Early morning hours sometimes at 4 am

    Best Buy2018-03-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Awful, uninformed, lazy middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Roseville, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hours can be flexible, fun environment, easy job, They don’t want to fire you so you get away with a lot, no one really holds you accountable for arriving late/other issues

    Cons

    Pay, you’d work hard dealing with tons of customers while you make pennies and bosses makes disproportionately high wages for less than a fraction of work, management is lazy and pretty uninformed or even uninterested about their job and your job for the most part, communication all around is lacking, everyone shares info within their own friend groups

    Advice to Management

    Management should know about the jobs of the people they manage. Also be on the floor instead of the admin or employee development room for at least half your shift. Hire more deserving people, not only the people you are friends with

    Best Buy2019-07-25
  3. "Solid but dying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad Autotech Lead in Flint, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company woth good benifits

    Cons

    Generally a one man show with no help from the store.

    Advice to Management

    Help your autotechs

    Best Buy2019-07-02
  4. "It was a decent college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sony Camera Expert in Auburn Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun coworkers, good pay and benefits, good discounts

    Cons

    management team can be annoying

    Advice to Management

    stop being annoying

    Best Buy2019-04-29
  5. "Great seasonal opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employees Great training

    Cons

    high turnover of employees in customer service

    Best Buy2019-04-16
  6. "Worst Job environment I Have ever been in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very easy job, and meh benefits.

    Cons

    -Worst Training I have ever taking They throw you on computer without any mentoring for like weeks and you gotta do those tedious E-learnings(Training modules) which is the worst E-learningsI have ever taken. Why you ask? because most of them (the 60 i took) are very useless and redundant information, and it takes years to good to the point or even the thing they should have said in e-learnings in beginning. You don't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Mentor your new hires closely, and answer any questions they have even if you think they don't. - Train them early and weave the sales floor training into the e-learnings. - Take feed back from employees especially new hires. - Make the new employees feel comfortable and belong there. - Don't look down on anyone - Stop pushing us sell credit cards so hard - Stop pushing us to sell protection so hard - Stop...

    Show More
    Best Buy2019-04-13
  7. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great discount, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Management, people, work-life balance, pay

    Best Buy2019-03-17
  8. "Holiday Health Check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Technician in Grand Rapids, MI

    I worked at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job. Wish I could do it every year.

    Cons

    Contact is only 3 weeks long.

    Best Buy2019-03-01
  9. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment with clear expectations I enjoyed my team and the customer focus

    Cons

    Holidays are crazy and scheduling is difficult during these times but they have good processes overall

    Best Buy2019-02-28
  10. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Allen Park, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job is fun Simple Coworkers are great

    Cons

    A lot of down time Hard to advance

    Best Buy2019-02-11
Found 284 reviews