Best Buy Reviews in Mississippi | Glassdoor

Best Buy Mississippi Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
1 Ratings
  1. "A very nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Meridian, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company seems to genuinely care about its employees.

    Cons

    There can be stressful days, especially around the holiday season.

    Best Buy2019-08-22
  2. "Good Opportunity to learn Tech and Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Meridian, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will learn about new and emerging technology in retail Results-driven environment and sales training Fun work environment that promotes friendliness and fun

    Cons

    Department managers may not always be the most qualified to lead.

    Best Buy2019-06-06
  3. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Floor Staff in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and working conditions

    Cons

    Nothing to speak about because I found none.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Best Buy2019-03-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Geek Squad Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Flowood, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than sales floor Good discounts on select brands Chance to get monthly bonus

    Cons

    Store expects way too much out of you. I have worked the sales floor and geek squad. Sales floor get catered to and help whenever needed. Geek Squad just gets tasks that need to be completed with no direction or support. Do something good and you won’t get recognized. Do something incorrectly and never hear the end of it.

    Advice to Management

    Geek Squad is as important to Best Buy as the sales floor. Act like it!

    Best Buy2018-10-09
  5. "Good job, depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Gulfport, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount, discounted stocks, 2 weeks paid time off, and 401k for part time.

    Cons

    Management can be toxic. Massive focus on pushing credit cards. Limited hours as part time.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and train them more than demand results.

    Best Buy2018-08-11
  6. "The only big-box retailer that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Southaven, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leaders that listen Excellent work-life balance Huge opportunities for advancement Active community-outreach programs Ridiculous amount of employee perks & accomodations

    Cons

    Your employment experience will vary by store More conservative-minded folk may not agree with the company's outlook

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. And thank you for listening. I'll miss this company.

    Best Buy2018-01-10
  7. "Geek Squad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Diberville, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, very nice management.

    Cons

    Not flexible on hours or vacation unless you are full time.

    Advice to Management

    Allow for more hours and the ability to have holidays.

    Best Buy2017-12-26
  8. "Nice people overall but they pay and hours are for young or college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inventory Control Specialist in Southaven, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    They give you great discounts on some products and the work is easy, really to easy for me and the coworkers are great to work with

    Cons

    The pay sucks plus the hours is few and far apart there's not benefits to talk about if you part time then there are there favorites people who gets all the hours

    Advice to Management

    Be fair with hours and better training, and more professional

    Best Buy2017-08-15
  9. "Computer Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Sales Associate in Madison, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced action. Nice hours. You get to talk tech all day.

    Cons

    Not too many complaints :) I am not hard to please.

    Advice to Management

    These guys are already awesome!

    Best Buy2016-12-28
  10. "let's move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Autotech in Flowood, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Installing in vehicles is a position that requires concentration. The position is self paced based on the job via the schedule. Work days are consistent.

    Cons

    I like being an installer for bestbuy. I feel there isn't any great advertising to boost production in the store. floor workers aren't trained and knowledgeable on what goes on in the install bay.

    Advice to Management

    pay more based on experience.

    Best Buy2016-10-19
Found 41 reviews