Best Buy Reviews in New York State | Glassdoor

Best Buy New York State Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 575 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Retail Job I’ve had so Far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Customer Service Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Everyone is friendly and will help you with any questions you have. -Checkout is kept considerably tidy with how many people are back there everyday. -Employee discounts on open boxes and snacks that you may want for lunch are awesome! -If you’re a good employee managers WILL take note of it, I’ve been approached by 2 managers for a position after seasonal. You can move up really fast if you are a fast learner and...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Since I started the week before Thanksgiving I wasn’t taught all the ropes so I’m still catching up because of it. -As a seasonal you won’t be able to call out so I’ve been sick twice since I got here and had to push through my shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you guys are doing, every manager in the store makes me feel welcomed and appreciated.

    Best Buy2018-12-08
  2. "Good place to work (44th and 5th)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good management team Good scheduling Typical retail job break times are fine If you are hired as seasonal, MAKE SURE you try to look as busy as possible and keep your sales up, that will help you get that permanent position if desired (wish i was told that when i was hired as seasonal).

    Cons

    Major holiday seasons are quite hectic (especially black friday) but that is expected.

    Best Buy2019-04-17
  3. "Great company to get your professional career started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive Compensation, Great benefits, Great corporate culture and values

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be a bit hectic particularly during holiday season

    Best Buy2019-03-31
  4. "Great Fun Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Phone Operator in Mount Vernon, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time

    Pros

    Everyone seems respectful and helpful with one another.

    Cons

    It has that Warehouse feel and gets very cold.

    Advice to Management

    Still too early to offer any advice.

    Best Buy2019-03-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I should have been moved on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot from this company. The bonus for Managers are good they use to be great.

    Cons

    Long hours if you a Manager. Favoritisms from upper Manager. Corporate walks very stressful. Will demote you if you not hitting your goals.

    Advice to Management

    Stop Hiring young Managers to run the company. Customers and Employees do not like it. Listen to your employees. Hire more Females into Management.

    Best Buy2019-03-19
  6. "Not the same....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Discount is great. Focus on change to remain relevant in the retail space was good.

    Cons

    In order to remain relevant they had to get rid of high paying people that have been around a long time. Cost cuts... Discounts to consumers and margin crunch is real. Pay seems good, but when don't have work life balance, not as good as it seems. No Loyalty to the people making it happen.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people

    Best Buy2019-03-14
  7. "Ehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with cool gadgets and technology

    Cons

    sale goals and credit card apps

    Advice to Management

    be a bit easier we bring in all the money for you

    Best Buy2019-03-06
  8. "Great starter job for teens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Westbury, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great hours friendly staff and large discounts on products

    Cons

    low wages but hours make up for it.

    Best Buy2019-02-12
  9. "Tightly Knit Teams with Unnecessary Corporate Red Tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Imaging Sales Associate in Long Is City, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Productive teams who's supervisors push for the best in you, respectable coworkers, always something to learn from your peers, room to grow in every department if you choose to learn, recognition for your hard work

    Cons

    CRWs are forced, sometimes you don't get positions you are cut out for, SLOW employee computers in an ELECTRONICS store,

    Advice to Management

    ALL Best Buys NEED Xbox, Playstation, and PSVR demos that allow customers to try out the tech. If we are going to be so adamant about "experiential selling" but not have options for customers to try in store, than whats the point?

    Best Buy2019-02-12
  10. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Westbury, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Flexible hours -Comprehensive training -Opportunities to advance

    Cons

    -Performance based scheduling -Minimum required hours

    Best Buy2019-02-11
Found 575 reviews