Best Buy Operation Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Operations Specialist Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
77%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Rating
  1. "Operations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts, hours, work environment, helped build communication skills

    Cons

    Pay, black friday hours,

    Advice to Management

    None

    Best Buy2016-02-25
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist 

    I worked at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Good company and benefits

    Cons

    Better sales training for new hires

    Best Buy2019-02-20
  3. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Services Specialist in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Co-workers all work well together & seem to like working there. Great employee discounts and perks.

    Cons

    Upper Management role are all men & advancement are most likely to be given to males instead of females. Every year talks of lay off so job security is no guarantee.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hand picking men for advancement and also give women a chance.

    Best Buy2016-06-17
  4. "This was a good part time job for a student; it was relatively easy and the discounts were awesome."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Marlborough, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts Competitive wage Easy but not terribly boring Employees are generally young and interesting Large stores, so room to move up

    Cons

    Stressed out management Not very flexible Expected to work more than a student may like, 20+ hours Management belittles staff sometimes

    Best Buy2014-01-31
  5. "The discounts were great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Any returned products makes you the first in line to get great deals with your employee discount. Depending on what department you work in you can have a flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    It can be boring but it depends what department you work in

    Advice to Management

    Implement some reward programs to keep the job fun and exciting

    Best Buy2013-09-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "High turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is pretty good, though not as good as it used to be. Working with new technology is rewarding if you are into tech.

    Cons

    Poor store level management can result in high turnover rates and increased strain and stress on remaining employees. Staffing needs to have more foresight so that high traffic periods don't catch everyone with their pants down. Politics prevent those who deserve from getting promoted and those that don't deserve a promotion get it out of favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like humans not pieces on a chess board and maybe the turnover rate won't be as bad.

    Best Buy2012-10-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Was fun until management changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people, lots of younger aged employees, great discount

    Cons

    management didn't care or listen to problems with employees or store, didn't encourage promotions after years of service, gave raises to "favorites" and didn't recognize hard-working employees

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees, promote hard working employees that have worked for company for years, allow fun & individuality, be available for questions, back them up with rude customers instead of just trying to "make the sale"

    Best Buy2012-09-06
  8. "I literally LOVE my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Specialist in Mechanicsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    Their like a family, and everyone works as a team. It's a fun enviroment and employees are given great training! I like that after working there 3 weeks I had no questions about how to do all aspects of my job. It's a company that I feel the need to go above and beyond for everyday.

    Cons

    I don't really have any complaints. A lot of people do find it difficult to hit your 20% goal on services when working up front, and to get the credit card apps in. Personally, I find that I have NO trouble what-so-ever as long as you effectively communicate the benefits to the customer.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are great, only thing I would say as far as advice goes, is more time alloted for employees to help other employees struggling in sales of services. I was able to help a co-worker raise his numbers just by spending half a shift pitching the GSBTP Plans along with him until he understood what he needed to be communicating to the customer.

    Best Buy2012-01-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best Buy treats you like royalty for 6 months, then treats you like a slave after 6 months."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Specialist in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    Employees, other than the managers, are great to work with.

    Cons

    Management can't get its act together. They can't communicate and when the do it's always negative. I can't speak for other stores but ours is a boys club.

    Advice to Management

    Take away management bonuses and give it to the front line people. They're the ones doing the work. Management sits on their a** until they find out something is going to affect their bonus.

    Best Buy2011-06-25
  10. "Overall good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Specialist in Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    -Good pay compared to other jobs. -Lots off opportunities for transfers to different types of roles. -Flexible with scheduling -Lots of training available for employees

    Cons

    -Limited advancement opportunities -Inconsistent with quality of managers. -Not praised enough for good work -Sometimes promotions seemed unfairly given Some managers overworked employees without supporting them or assisting.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more and provide greater feedback. Ensure quality of managers that are being hired and promoted. Management varied too much from store to store

    Best Buy2010-09-06
Found 14 reviews