Best Buy Reviews in Ottawa, ON | Glassdoor

Best Buy Ottawa Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Ron Wilson
Ron Wilson
5 Ratings
  1. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was A great place to work. It had flexible hours. It had Interesting staff members. ANd a welcoming environment

    Cons

    Its was not a place I could see myself working for the rest of my life therefore iI was looking for something more challenging and more developmental.

    Best Buy2019-08-18
  2. "Better scheduling needed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Process Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team Lots of friendly people to work with.

    Cons

    Hours all over the place Close-Open-Close-Open

    Advice to Management

    Schedule people better so they can get proper sleep. Treat full-timers better.

    Best Buy2019-08-03
  3. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and people to work with , they hire a good people Job isnt too demanding and pretty enjoyable good benefits and employee discounts

    Cons

    The GM was terrible and unfair at times Not a lot of room for growth

    Best Buy2019-06-25
  4. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly Nice people nice nice nice

    Cons

    Not enough hours More hours not enough hours not enough hours

    Advice to Management

    Before you hire produce enough hours Good not bad

    Best Buy2019-05-13
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    part-time benefits, flexible scheduling, great co-workers

    Cons

    minimum wage pay, must work weekends

    Best Buy2019-04-20
  6. "Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Counter Intelligence Agent in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment , good ambience

    Cons

    Non cooperative management , biased reviews about employees

    Best Buy2018-10-19
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employee benefits, fun if you like technology.

    Cons

    Management was a bit wacky.

    Advice to Management

    ?

    Best Buy2018-02-20
  8. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great discounts -Amazing staff environment -Very youthful -Off season is pretty relaxing -Cool events where you can try out new products coming out

    Cons

    -Holiday seasons become stressful for managers, who will sometimes put too much pressure on their workers. -Large pressure on sales goals

    Advice to Management

    Just keep in mind that many employees there are still in school and need time off to work towards their school and personal goals.

    Best Buy2017-12-01
  9. "Part Time Customer Service REp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment, all round decent people.

    Cons

    Nothing really inspiring about the job, just a usually part time position

    Best Buy2017-07-05
  10. "Fine for a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good for an in between job or for students. Minimum wage. Perfectly fine job. Can't really complain about my time there.

    Cons

    Too much pressure on sales. Stupid "we need a rockstar" corporate faux family BS. Dumb cheers in morning meetings. Just another retail job you'll be hoping to quit eventually.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the stupid cheers and faux "were a family" crap. It's a job. Nothing more nothing less. I don't care if it goes under or not, Best Buy shouldn't be someone's career.

    Best Buy2017-05-04
Found 21 reviews