Best Buy Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Best Buy Portland Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Review of Bestbuy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, bonus, environment, work life balance, management

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons

    Best Buy2018-02-28
  2. "Good Place to Learn to Sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training and family feeling store.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great and the working nights and weekends wasn't fun.

    Best Buy2019-05-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "In Home Advisor Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In Home Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Discounts -Amazing people that you work with -Full Time Benefits, can be Dental and Optical as well

    Cons

    -Corporate Management -Very inconsistent with customer service -No accountability from upper level management

    Best Buy2019-05-02
  5. "Good job to have while enjoying technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of good technology, and discounts, good co workers

    Cons

    Management, companies are all disorganized

    Advice to Management

    Tie it all together

    Best Buy2019-03-14
  6. "Loved the job and people, management could use help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appliances Sales Consultant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities if you work hard (achievers), loads of fun, amazing discount, and an overall good work environment,

    Cons

    Scheduling conflicts, drama, popularity contest, a lot of positions are part-time, revolving door of new-hires, bad attitude from superiors, and managers hiring friends over qualified applicants.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that most of us are students and please help us work around that, also promote from within and you won't lose all your employees.

    Best Buy2018-09-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's a Blue Cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core SALES Computing in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have an okay discount, get a lot of training on cool new tech and are taught better ways to communicate with customers.

    Cons

    It's a cult following. Your pay does depend on your performance, although they tell you they wont fire you over low numbers, they WILL lower your hours as a part-timer. If you're lucky to gain full-time, it's because you're an aggressive sales person who makes people apply for credit cards even though they may not even get approved (which is 75% of the time). The managers are brainwashed and bleed Best Buy Blue.

    Advice to Management

    Be as professional as possible with your team regardless of how you want to come off to them. It's not your job to be their friend it's your job to gain their respect and trust.

    Best Buy2018-09-09
  8. "Appliance Sales Representative at Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bonus structure, excellent boost in customer service and technical sales knowledge, dynamic day to day interactions, whole solutions sales experience

    Cons

    Terrible base pay, little acknowledgement or advancement. You're lucky to get a $.30 raise, even if you're the best in your department, store, district. You are expendable.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job at acknowledgement, or do better locating your talent. I know retainment is a big problem for you, and I could go on endlessly on how it can be improved.

    Best Buy2018-03-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Basic Sales Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun job where you get to learn about new technology and try to describe it to people who don't understand Amazon or Google.

    Cons

    You don't get paid much and shifts are all over the place based on how close you and the scheduling manager are.

    Advice to Management

    Work with the people. Nobody likes whip-cracking.

    Best Buy2017-10-11
  10. "Computer Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people (sometimes). Easy business hours (earliest 930AM, latest 930PM).

    Cons

    You will have to push products and services or be pestered into leaving. It's sales so you will have crappy customers. Product knowledge is of little importance compared to selling abilities and keeping up with your "numbers." Lastly, don't forget that you will be working all holidays except for the day of Christmas. That includes the dreaded Black Friday.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so abrasive about tracking numbers and notice people who work hard to keep the department from falling apart.

    Best Buy2017-09-22
  11. "Insanity- but not my worst experience in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Advertising Undergrad in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great team -Lots of fun to play with and learn about the latest & greatest in consumer tech -Store policy makes guest interactions quite simple and easy; no sitting on a phone for 3 hours just to be able to help a guest get what they want! -Decent hourly pay as Occasional Seasonal

    Cons

    -No commission -Janky scheduling system; many, many schedule conflicts with university classes that (not only did I talk about thoroughly during both interviews, but) could have been easily resolved if somebody had just been paying attention. Instead, after notifying 4 different managers that the system failed to update my schedule correctly, I was still reprimanded by the general manager of the store for missing... those days. Not cool, guys. -(The usual) holiday chaos -Even on a good day, management seemed a bit more overbearing and downright invasive than necessary. -HR seemed a bit sluggish; I was offered a job inside of the interview, but it took 2 weeks after I'd accepted it to receive a digital (official) offer in my email inbox.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To store management: Having a "hands-on" approach to motivating employees doesn't translate to hovering over employees while they work. Instead, seek to foster the existing company culture (which, in my opinion, already provides equal intrinsic and extrinsic fulfillment to workers) and just let these people do more of what they love. Help people find what they love to do and give them the necessary hands-off general... guidance with which they can build their own skills in that path.

    Show More
    Best Buy2017-03-07
Found 45 reviews