Best Buy Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Best Buy Portland Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Not to bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apple Master in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and flexible. The atmosphere is really cool.

    Cons

    Sometimes short staffed, and have to work nights, weekends, and holidays including Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve.

    Advice to Management

    Be great leaders.

    Best Buy2018-10-24
  2. "Good Place to Learn to Sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training and family feeling store.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great and the working nights and weekends wasn't fun.

    Best Buy2019-05-21
  3. "In Home Advisor Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In Home Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Discounts -Amazing people that you work with -Full Time Benefits, can be Dental and Optical as well

    Cons

    -Corporate Management -Very inconsistent with customer service -No accountability from upper level management

    Best Buy2019-05-02
  4. "Good job to have while enjoying technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of good technology, and discounts, good co workers

    Cons

    Management, companies are all disorganized

    Advice to Management

    Tie it all together

    Best Buy2019-03-14
  5. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Magnolia Home Theater Sales Associate in Tualatin, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers want to see you succeed. Discount is good on certain items, mostly Insignia.

    Cons

    People expect you to know everything about every single item

    Advice to Management

    Give us more training time

    Best Buy2019-01-13
  6. "GM’s run stores differently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Home Expert in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At my third location in Oregon, they are understanding, helpful and willing to watch you grow. They also have groups for lgbt, and women to help move up in the company. But that’s all depending on where you are.

    Cons

    Stores can vary greatly. My third store was great but the first two in Another state were horrible. There was no clear structure and management was known to hired their unqualified friends. They retaliated and were agreed I’ve and pushy towards employees. I thought it was the company and I was close To quitting but after I started my position at the Oregon Best Buy I was shocked how different it was. I love my team and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent, and for anyone higher, please check on stores, some GM’s don’t care about employees or managers.

    Best Buy2019-01-02
  7. "Sales insulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Clackamas, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work., or where your in school.

    Cons

    Work is not reliable, not a good choice to build a career.

    Advice to Management

    Stop favoriting people over others and underpaying.

    Best Buy2018-11-27
  8. "Loved the job and people, management could use help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appliances Sales Consultant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities if you work hard (achievers), loads of fun, amazing discount, and an overall good work environment,

    Cons

    Scheduling conflicts, drama, popularity contest, a lot of positions are part-time, revolving door of new-hires, bad attitude from superiors, and managers hiring friends over qualified applicants.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that most of us are students and please help us work around that, also promote from within and you won't lose all your employees.

    Best Buy2018-09-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's a Blue Cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core SALES Computing in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have an okay discount, get a lot of training on cool new tech and are taught better ways to communicate with customers.

    Cons

    It's a cult following. Your pay does depend on your performance, although they tell you they wont fire you over low numbers, they WILL lower your hours as a part-timer. If you're lucky to gain full-time, it's because you're an aggressive sales person who makes people apply for credit cards even though they may not even get approved (which is 75% of the time). The managers are brainwashed and bleed Best Buy Blue.

    Advice to Management

    Be as professional as possible with your team regardless of how you want to come off to them. It's not your job to be their friend it's your job to gain their respect and trust.

    Best Buy2018-09-09
  10. "One step up from fast food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tualatin, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team, good bonus if you surpass the goal.

    Cons

    Long hours, especially during the holidays. Didn't really believe in a lot of the products we were selling. Expected too much to know in certain departments. Felt like we were working commission even though we got paid minimum wage.

    Best Buy2018-08-09
Found 86 reviews