Best Buy Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19498 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Corie Barry
114 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of my fellow employees had a difficult time becoming full-time or moving up to other rolls(in 587 reviews)

  • "little to no hours after holidays as part time(in 541 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great career kick off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Car Installer in Vauxhall, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really easy to get promoted if you actually want to put in the work

    Cons

    long holiday hours can take a toll on family time

    Best Buy2019-08-18
  2. "Kick off your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Car Installer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really easy to get promoted if you actually want to put in the work

    Cons

    long holiday hours but that is to be expected in retail.

    Best Buy2019-08-18
  3. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Sales Consultant 

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good if you like talking to people who dont know anything about technology

    Cons

    low pay. hours can be inconsistent . hard to get a raise

    Best Buy2019-08-18
  4. "LG Experience Expert at Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LG Experience Expert in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee discount is amazing, generous time off, 401k price match, great medical benefits

    Cons

    Holidays, management (dependent on location)

    Advice to Management

    None

    Best Buy2019-08-19
  5. "Great place to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in San Marcos, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is willing to help. Good work environment. Best Buy cares about their customers and it shows on coaching.

    Cons

    System issues happen from time to time, some more than others. Some people seem like a perfect fit for management, but are not given a shot. Corporate in MN has way more job opportunities, we are kind of left behind with just sales.

    Advice to Management

    So many amazing people who are willing to move up in this company and are not given a shot. The potential is easy to see, sometimes it seems to be based on metrics instead of metrics and someone's relationship with their peers.

    Best Buy2019-08-17
  6. "Pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Altadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Full customer service, no stress

    Cons

    No cons, ultimately a awesome company

    Advice to Management

    None

    Best Buy2019-08-17
  7. "Same retail story"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    discount, co-workers, steady hours, always something to do

    Cons

    Holiday sales, constant shifting management, retail clientele

    Best Buy2019-08-17
  8. "Good Enough but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management Pay Good work/life balance Good benefits(full time) Good coworkers

    Cons

    Thankless Position No support from upper management

    Best Buy2019-08-17
  9. "Accomodating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are very accommodating to everyone and there schedules. I have had great mangers and have been treated well.

    Cons

    They are making cut backs which are cutting hours and causing coverage shortages.

    Best Buy2019-08-16
  10. "Pretty good for part time / student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment, pretty good morale, nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Could be a bit more flexible with schedules for students. Annoying customers, but that goes with any retail position.

    Best Buy2019-08-16
Found 19498 reviews