Best Buy Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
1,951 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good employee discount on some stuff(in 2293 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, good pay(in 983 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not very good work life balance(in 587 reviews)

  • "long hours standing makes you burnout(in 532 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Best Buy and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      good company

      Dec 28, 2020 - Home Theater Specialist in Tukwila, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good management, compensation, and benefits

      Cons

      consistent change of policies probably due to pandemic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Get my start

      May 7, 2021 - Geek Squad Manager in Issaquah, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Place to work and Grow

      Cons

      Inconsistent work schedule in a retail store but that is to be expected

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid Job

      Apr 27, 2021 - Product Flow Specialist in Davenport, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays well and though recently they've been catching flak for laying off something like 5k full timers during COVID the reasoning makes sense plus a lot of them got rehired but as part-timers. I know it's not the same but the way the company is going having flexible part-timer hours makes sense.

      Cons

      If you want to get consistent hours you gotta do a LOT of elearnings so that you can get scheduled to wherever they need you. So if you've only completed the elearnings for computing and they only need for for a 6 hour shift that week then you're basically screwed. Also I'm not a sales guy but even in the warehouse I get annoyed by how much they push for the sales team to milk EVERY SINGLE customer to get them to apply for the Best Buy credit card or Total Tech Support which yes they're useful but if a person is just buying an hdmi cable you're still expected to convince them to apply for either one of those. Very annoying and it kinda takes away from the "friendship" the elearnings keep mentioning you're supposed to build with customers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Feeling fulfilled can be hard

      Apr 14, 2021 - Certified Home Theater in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Decent starting pay -Lots of avenues for growth -Amazing employee discount

      Cons

      Oh where to begin... -For one, your targets and goals working here rarely remain the same for long. In one breath, corporate management and store management will say "All we need is to accomplish X, above all else... once we do that we will be in the green..." Yet once employees manage to accomplish "X", you are berated for not accomplishing "Y". Shifting goalposts are common across a lot of industries and companies, but at Best Buy it's so bad it's almost comical. -The "corporatization" of Best Buy has dehumanized the experience of working there. While this, too, is common across a lot of industries and companies that doesn't mean it's a good situation or an environment that employees simply have to accept. The fact that Best Buy requires all employees to take digital trainings on how to act like a human worries me. The management of Best Buy simply isn't very "human", and managers don't get very much freedom to do what's best for their teams. -As a store employee you are expected to take the blame for customer issues that were caused at a higher level of the company. This happens at a lot of companies, but Best Buy especially seems perfectly content to waste a customer's time and money before telling that customer to simply "deal with it" if the customer wasn't given the promised level of service. This is more frustrating and painful for the sales associates than anyone else, as we often become the punching bag for mistakes we didn't make.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Entry Leadership Experience

      May 3, 2021 - Sales Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best Buy is a great job if you're just starting and looking to get some decent experience under your belt. Training with Best Buy easily transfer into any direction you may go as far as a career is concerned. They have great benefits, fun culture, and amazing people working for them. -Great Health Care -Generous PTO -A lot of advancement opportunity

      Cons

      The biggest con with Best Buy is definitely their confusing pay structure. They're constantly changing and restructuring things to the point where people you're managing will be making the same or even more than you. Duties/responsibilities change just about every other month and there is no pay adjustment despite more usually being thrown onto your plate. Someone's experience with company likely varies based off your specific store/district. - Low pay, high expectations - Confusing pay structure - Time with company means little

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work but no path to higher positions

      May 3, 2021 - Merchandising Specialist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job that makes time go by in a flash, great employee discount, and decent pay starting for what you do

      Cons

      No path to higher positions in company (one friend I met there worked for about 15 years in Inventory and made less than what I did starting AND got laid off when the store closed so yikes terrible, Sales workers get looked at first for promotions or other opportunities, Can be rough during the seasonal months but that is every retail job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Meh

      May 5, 2021 - Sales Associate in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays decent, coworkers make the job interesting.

      Cons

      Company does not care enough about its bottom line employees. Unwilling to give small raises to top sales people causing retail stores to become less profitable as their best employees leave as they are offered better pay elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not terrible but not amazing, all depends on the store. My store was like a giant somewhat dysfunctional family.

      May 7, 2021 - Product Flow Specialist in Waterford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The discount is pretty good, especially for accessories. My store in particular would do cookouts pre Covid, and had hosted a few game nights after hours, ranging from Mario kart tournaments, to MTG, to an all out Nerf war.

      Cons

      All depends on the store I guess, but leadership (especially higher than store level) tends to almost completely forget about everyone else besides the sales floor.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent entry level IT / Customer service experience

      May 1, 2021 - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My work experience at Best Buy has been positive due to many different factors. They include the following: Geek Squad Manager / Assistant Manager are easy to talk to and willing to help, safe work environment, new technology brings variety to work, and the satisfaction of helping others.

      Cons

      The pay for this position is low in relation to other similar job experiences (i.e. entry level IT technician), higher store management is difficult to talk with at times (this will vary store to store).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      training would have been nice

      May 3, 2021 - Geek Squad Manager in Augusta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great flexibility/work environment for hourly workers

      Cons

      once you make the leap to management you are to "own your training" which means you train yourself. I advised at the interview for management that i had no experience in management so would need extra help learning. I got two days of training and then my manager got hired to higher position. i was suddenly on my own and consistently given write ups for issues i had no knowledge i was lacking in until i got the write up. I was told over and over that phrase of "own your training". How do i know i dont know something if i dont know it? I asked to be given training at the nearest other store that had a experience Geek Squad member and was told no, too expensive, and to just call them when i had questions. So you want me to hold up business at two different locations all throughout the day so i can get answers but i cant go walk sided by side with them?? I wish i had never applied for management. I loved it there as hourly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 25,069 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Best Buy Job Seekers

    General Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews