Best Buy Cashier/Crew Member Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Best Buy Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
222 Ratings
  1. "One of the best retail companies I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Friendly environment- My coworkers all were great and very professional. Made work enjoyable. 2. Good management at the store- The managers at the store was always helpful and made sure to give positive feedback on employees. 3. The pay was ok but better than most places- as a company, they reward stores that are doing really well in sales. Which makes sense to me. Achieve sales goals. Get a percentage bonus on... your paycheck. I remember the first time working there and getting a bonus, got a tad over $100 extra on my paycheck!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really a con but for my position it was part-time and not full-time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Best Buy2019-10-16
  2. "Customers sucked, atmosphere was worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great experience, Great teammates, Fantastic time.

    Cons

    Less than ideal customers most of the time.

    Best Buy2019-10-16
  3. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Attentive management and lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Slow promotion and it would take a long time to make enough money. I got a 30 cents raise after working hard for 12 months

    Best Buy2019-10-16
  4. "Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile and Connected Life Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best Buy is fun to work for, but the responsibilities are constantly changing at Best Buy due to new leadership.

    Cons

    Mobile and connected life is probably the worst department to work in besides warehouse.

    Best Buy2019-10-17
  5. "Customer Experience Specialist, Occasional Seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Specialist in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a very accepting environment with very chill coworkers. Is great for those starting out, as it's $12 an hour, better than $11 at McDonalds I'd say.

    Cons

    Not the best job opportunity out there, but still great for those starting out.

    Best Buy2019-10-17
  6. "Good benefits, stressful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory/Merchandising Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement and other great benefits (even for part time), good room for advancement

    Cons

    High stress environment for line-level all the way up. Nothing ever seems to be good enough, always could have improved on something

    Best Buy2019-10-15
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great work environment

    Cons

    Pressure to push credit cards and protection

    Best Buy2019-10-15
  8. "Great job to help people learn about consumer tech and basic selling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Hammond, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount, Fun atmosphere, Focused on training

    Cons

    Not Flexible on hour. Holidays

    Advice to Management

    I did not feel like they were invested in my career and furthering it in the company

    Best Buy2019-10-15
  9. "Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate 

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time

    Pros

    Diverse, Fun to work at, lots of competition

    Cons

    Lots of work, Dealing with hard clients

    Advice to Management

    Keep working hard and achieving goals

    Best Buy2019-10-16
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Fun work environment, good team

    Cons

    Unstable schedule, weird hours, retail

    Best Buy2019-10-14
Found 19874 reviews