Best Buy Sales Consultant Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
143 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Best Buy and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Eh

    Mar 1, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Bowie, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It has a good culture

    Cons

    Management can be over bearing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Actually Feels Like Family

    Apr 23, 2021 - Sales Consultant Computer/DI in Mount Vernon, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Despite being a publicly traded company, I actually felt valued as a team member and not just "a number in the system". Management was super flexible in letting me have my other full time job and letting me pick my hours. Employee discount is OBSURD and incredible compared to any other retail company (talking about hundreds of dollars off expensive products). In situations with rude and aggressive customers, my team leaders would always stand up for me and have my back. Even though I was only interested in part-time, they encouraged me to work more and move up in the company.

    Cons

    Layoffs for during COVID, didn't give notice or a heads up that they didn't even let me go.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great People!

    May 8, 2021 - Retail Sales Consultant in New Hartford, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highly Recommended, Great ability to learn about the latest tech

    Cons

    Pay is biweekly, hours can vary

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good job for college students

    Mar 30, 2021 - Mobile Sales Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constantly getting raises (small) and you will be recognized for hard work, lots of employee engagement, lots of free food, free prizes to win, etc. health insurance covered a lot, nice PTO package, managers were flexible when you needed a day off to rest or if you were sick.

    Cons

    Very very VERY cliquey (if you don’t fit in with the other employees, you’ll never be promoted or recognized), used to be low pay but they raised the minimum to 15 an hour after I left, I’ve worked at different Best Buy stores and they do not all follow the same policies, health insurance is a little pricey but not as bad as others.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    decent role

    Apr 26, 2021 - Sales Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are young, need work experience, and just need something I don't think this is a bad opportunity. If you learn the aspect of sales early you could do good in any job. - discount [varies per product] usually pretty ok - competitive pay - if you like technology, its fun - sell cool tech - work with cool vendors - opportunity for OT

    Cons

    - micromanaged - favors - lack of mental health awareness - disorganization - hard to request time off - forced to sell stuff - sell things that aren't really practical or effective for profit - get compared to other employees 24/7 who do better

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It was a solid job

    Mar 25, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Jonesboro, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are great, as well as the structure of the business. It is very professional and they really want to help you succeed. The pay is also above average.

    Cons

    There were a lot of people in command that constantly contradicted themselves. At times they would try to teach me things at inappropriate times & it influenced my sale. Also there were a lot of people who weren’t trying to be a team, but further advance themselves, which hindered the growth of a lot of solid sales people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Review

    May 9, 2021 - Home Theater Sales Consultant in Waterloo, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment when staffed correctly

    Cons

    Could get laid off just because.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales

    Apr 26, 2021 - Computing Sales Consultant in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good deals for employees using discounts

    Cons

    No commission, but have targets to meet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Pay & Room for Career Growth

    Apr 6, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Little Rock, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    adequate pay (based on experience and sales); awesome managers; many opportunities to work your way up; great for college students or people looking for a career change

    Cons

    very high volume of customers every day; products and sale policies change frequently so you have to be ready to stay informed and do a lot of research to stay up to date

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Learn your chops

    Apr 21, 2021 - Sales Consultant in East Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learning sales, comfortability with talking to others

    Cons

    Have to be in it to win it, have to withstand cutthroat environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,597 Reviews

Popular Careers with Best Buy Job Seekers

General Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Customer Experience Specialist, Seasonal
Learn About the Job

Work at Best Buy? Share Your Experiences

or