Best Buy Salt Lake City Reviews

Updated Apr 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
1 Rating
  1. "Great place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place with great benefits, and always good management teams.

    Cons

    Just general retail culture, but that's kind of a given.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2020-04-17
  2. "Retail Isn't Your Only Option When You're In College!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for students. Build relationships with good people.

    Cons

    Retail hours, managers not following what they preach, holidays are not a joy

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-11-26
  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits such as employee discount and tuition reimbursement. Great job while attending college as they are flexible with schedule. Great work environment.

    Cons

    Great job but if you don't like pressure to sell add-ones, the job can be kind of stressful.

    Best Buy2019-08-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Management destroyed the brand"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, accommodations, playing with new stuff.

    Cons

    Management, being treated like you're replaceable, repetitive quotas, no recognition, pay, favoritism, poor or no training, trained to treat customers like money bags.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2018-09-29
  5. "Good but Childish"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers, with good wages and a good bonus structure.

    Cons

    Massive favoritism between sales flor and management, childish managers who play it like a high school going off popularity for consequences to favorites and those not favored. Most managers do not lead by example, and do not have adequate experience to actually teach you anything valuable to benefit you on the floor as they do not have product knowledge, all it is telling you how you're doing wrong and not doing 250% goals.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2018-07-31
  6. "Micromanaging in steroids"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts Get to see new products.

    Cons

    Those who they choose for management. Poor life work balance.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2017-04-29
  7. "Best Buy Mobile Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Best Buy Mobile Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    Best Buy had a great discount, decent health benefits, 401k match up to 5%, and a lot of great leaders and employees.

    Cons

    Best Buy was pretty high levels of stress. I was in a high performing store however it gets exhausting to manage the amount of metrics they throw at you for every category imaginable. If felt though if you succeeded at one, district/corporate management wouldn't even stop to say thanks before they than switched focus to another category you could do better in.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2016-05-18
  8. "Fun place to work but they seem to use a lot of favoritism"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at best buy during college was nice because they were flexible with my schedule and It was a fun work environment great discount

    Cons

    Expected us to follow a certain formula for sales and would write us up if we didn't. I understand it is a business but it made me feel like a robot and felt unnatural having to follow each step one by one to sell products.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2015-09-16
  9. "worked for a student job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Delivery Driver in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    flexible with school so that was chill

    Cons

    micro management, weird sophomoric politics.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2015-08-21
  10. "i have had no experience working with best buy. i hope to work there soon."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    i think it would help me with people skills and give me a very good learning experience.

    Cons

    i will be a little leary at first but i will get the hang of it soon

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2015-03-21
Found 17 reviews