Best Buy Reviews in San Antonio, TX | Glassdoor

Best Buy San Antonio Reviews

Updated May 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing place to work, but still has its flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours Good pay Fun Not too stressful Easy to move up

    Cons

    Management is hit or miss Employees often tend to be lazy Retail with customers is always a pain

    Advice to Management

    First off, I'd like to just point out that the 4 star review is not reflective of the company, just my individual experience thus far. I have been working for best buy for a year now. They pay me very well for what I do and they do a great job keeping employees happy. BBQs on the back, bringing food for black friday, incentives for hitting a goal. The problem is the process for being hired. They still use a basic generic...

    Show More
    Best Buy2016-04-26
  2. "Depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discount, good benefits, tuition reimbursement for full time as well as being around the latest technology.

    Cons

    Depends on management some allow you to be who you are where others just shove nber and sales down your throat making it seem mu dance and repetitive

    Advice to Management

    It all depends on who is leading the store. Some managers are leaders while others just play the boss role

    Best Buy2016-04-05
  3. "BUSINESS PROFESSIONALS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Professional in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Starting a brand new branch in Best Buy to sell software Hardware networking and services which was the birth of Geek Squad.

    Cons

    One Bnew division of Geek Squad developed the services sold themselves people would come in and buy Hardware software and services without needing to be prompted to do so it was a One Stop Shop.

    Best Buy2016-03-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mobile Consultant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Sales Lead in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engaging, high pace environment with good managers. Made the department work like they are on commission when they were hourly. Great company to start sales and interaction.

    Cons

    Promoted based from longevity in a department, not merit, ability to lead and sell. Need more outgoing people willing to sell instead of just getting the customers what they came in looking for. Better product knowledge as well.

    Best Buy2016-03-15
  5. "Decent Job opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everybody I work with is fun and easy going, boss is easy going and usually lets you work freely, talk and work (thats a plus)

    Cons

    high standards for sales goals, restrictive hours, very impressionable, doesn't pay close attention to lower workers

    Advice to Management

    Show some support for in-house personnel, promote from with-in, work more closely with lower supervisors

    Best Buy2016-02-27
  6. "Good for Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Worked with good staff -Helping people felt great -Loved discounts

    Cons

    -just another job -managers sometimes unbearable

    Best Buy2016-02-15
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    Can do whatever you want if you do well. Easy to sell product so easy miney

    Cons

    Management is terrible and will always prefer women and move the women up before the guys, in my opinion.

    Advice to Management

    By make it so obvious that they play favorites in the store. A lot is never good enough

    Best Buy2016-01-29
  8. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount was great and the employee you worked with made the day go faster. Other than that there wasent anything I liked about the job.

    Cons

    Pressure to preform, management sucked, didn't care about employees. I wouldn't recommend anybody to work there because it sucked. They are always changing processes and they don't let it work it out to see if it's successful.

    Advice to Management

    Worst job I had.

    Best Buy2016-02-18
  9. "Best Big Box Retailer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sr. Leadership focuses on winning with the customer and employee. Employees care for one another and provide support at work and in life. The products are exciting and always has the newest technology to offer customers. Compensation is very competitive. Great employee discount.

    Cons

    If you struggle with change, BBY would be a difficult place to work. We are constantly making improvements to adapt with the customer and industry.

    Best Buy2015-12-17
  10. "Wireless consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wireless Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coeworkers were really great they made it fun to wok there. Also great employee and phone discount.

    Cons

    No commission on sales and bonuses are based on team performance so you can try your hardest but Id the whole team isn't on board no bonus.

    Best Buy2015-09-28
Found 80 reviews