Best Buy Reviews in San Antonio, TX | Glassdoor

Best Buy San Antonio Reviews

Updated May 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Supervisor and Specialty Coach in San Antonio, TX

      I have been working at Best Buy for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great benefits and great culture overall.

      Cons

      Work life balance for people with families is horrible.

      Best Buy2015-09-18
    • "Best Place to grow a young professional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great place to learn about technology, I went from not knowing the difference between Intel and AMD to being able to troubleshoot, fix, and even rebuild a PC in less than a year. Loved it so much that now I'm pursing CompTIA certs to grow as a professional.

      Cons

      The best training is from peers, meaning that the provided e-training isn't what gets you good at what you do. The customer base expects employees to have ALL the answers and really, the best employees who can live up to this expectation are the ones who take their personal time to do real research and gain product knowledge.

      Advice to Management

      Management at my store does a great job, no real complaints. Advice to upper management would be to spend less resources on e-training and more on letting employees gain "on hand" experience; displays often aren't enough for both employees and customers.

      Best Buy2015-09-18
    • "Best Buy Sales Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Best Buy Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      • Made lots of friends who also worked at Best Buy's all around my city. • Free food on good weekends ( When our store was set to have a big day, we got food. ) • Dissing the Douches of the store with other employees.

      Cons

      • Managers not knowing how to do anything. The simplest tasks couldn't be preformed by them. • Managers playing favorites while still pushing everyone around. • When a customer had an issue, managers would listen but it'd go in one ear and out the other until a real employee would take over the situation.

      Advice to Management

      Train managers to be a little nicer and understanding. Stop creating temporary solutions to fix major problems. Pay a little more for the employees with a real work ethic and knowledge of products and customers.

      Best Buy2015-08-25
    • "Works hard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I'm a hard worker I am up to learn something new I get alone with every one I no I won't let you down

      Cons

      I sometimes need a little motivation I don't like people talking about me

      Advice to Management

      Idk

      Best Buy2015-08-03
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good Interaction with employee's to Sr. Leadership, great structure and support system.

      Cons

      A little difficult when starting a new family,

      Advice to Management

      Continue to support and empower your employee's

      Best Buy2015-06-18
    • "Best Buy is my second Family"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Computing and Tablet Sales Consultant in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Wage, friendly employees, endless training, opportunity for advancement, flexible schedule.

      Cons

      Management shows favoritism at times. Other than that, I love my job.

      Best Buy2015-06-13
    • "Best Buy Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager Sales in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      If you work hard you can easily move up in the company. Competitive Pay in Leadership Positions. So many different positions available you can always be doing something new with the company.

      Cons

      Bad work life balance. Management works long hours. Line level employees are paid too little for the job duties requested of them.

      Advice to Management

      When you pay your sales associates the same as a Walmart Employee. Your going to get a Walmart Experience.

      Best Buy2015-06-27
    • "Canon Experience Expert"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy for less than a year

      Pros

      Good conditions to work in.

      Cons

      Management are some of the worst individuals I've ever met in my life. I say this only about the store I work in as I can't speak for others.

      Advice to Management

      Your employees are people, too. You should treat them that way(this goes specifically for my store, 864).

      Best Buy2015-06-25
    • "Selling them what they don't need."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Texas in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Hours were manageable and the shifts were never that bad. Returning customers were always a joy to see. You know you did good selling them what they need when they come back to you and trust your insight.

      Cons

      Managers were always very hard on you about selling people crazy warranty plans. There were some things I understood selling, but you would be forced to sell people things they honestly do not need, or there are better versions of it elsewhere for a better price. And we didn't price match every site. Only some.

      Advice to Management

      Truly learn that we can't sell every customers everything that makes you money. Some customers simply don't need it. Hire people in each deprament that actually understand the product. All of your workers in PCHO have no idea what generation a CPU is or the companies with the lowest failure rate.

      Best Buy2015-06-05
    • "Sales Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits and positions open up internally quite often

      Cons

      Did not take harassment claims serious at my location, also favoritism allowed some associated to move up ranks and were guaranteed positions even before interview were conducted. Management used insults to encourage competitiveness amongst sales employees.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to all associates, don't let management view esurvey questionnaires as they are being filled out. Makes the associate feel uneasy about being honest.

      Best Buy2015-04-23
    Found 80 reviews