Best Buy San Jose Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
2 Ratings
  1. "Very Kind People, Great Company"

    5.0
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Sunnyvale, CA

    I worked at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was very nice and welcoming, and everything was well organized.

    Cons

    -sometimes it felt like I wasn't doing work that was useful, but overall a great experience

    Best Buy2020-02-26
  2. "A Beginner Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good business to start in for experience. Almost a breeze to enter the retail side as Asset Protection then move into other departments.

    Cons

    No room for growth. Not unless you are favored or have connections. Dead end job.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2020-02-11
  3. "Good job for a collage student"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Lead in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, tuition reimbursement, match 401k up to 5%, PTO

    Cons

    Retail job with difficult customers once in a while

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-12-03
  4. "Great job and learning experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot about the latest technologies and products.

    Cons

    Not many cons, but we were understaffed and was given bad hours.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-10-14
  5. "Worst company to work for"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - travel & hotel accommodations for training

    Cons

    - toxic work culture - poor management - low pay - no appreciation for hard work - Harassments are tolerated - incompetent supervisor

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-09-22
  6. "It was alright"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Repair Agent in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts and accommodations. You also get to meet people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    If you're not full time, you can get shafted on hours.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-08-15
  7. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, could be better

    Cons

    immature coworkers, espp "immediately vested" aka kept in account bought twice a year

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-07-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Average Rating"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Depending on the manager they can be flexible with your schedule Discount is pretty decent on some stuff

    Cons

    Too much paperwork on a daily/weekly basis on sales projection for what they pay you Play favorites and if they want you gone they will do everything they can to get rid of you Constant pressure on what you sell and hitting targets and we are not paid on commission.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-07-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Feels like a second family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Gilroy, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have game nights which help us bond. We play games in order to make our application goals. We have days when we have food in the bad provided by management which boosts our worth We get monthly review which help us improve. Bonuses

    Cons

    No cons unless your not ok with the pros I listed

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-06-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Counting My Days"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Employee discount -Benefits (401k match, tuition reimbursement, misc. discounts, etc.) -Work/life balance in sales/inventory is good, no work to bring home with you. It gets hectic and hours are long over the holidays, but there is plenty of good money to be made during that time.

    Cons

    -Performance metrics are prioritized above all else. -Staff seemingly hired based on availability over skills and experience. Makes more work for more experienced employees. Bad seasonals were kept despite proof of their poor performance just because they had open availability. -New hires often paid more than those who have been with the company longer. Don't expect a raise outside of what you get annually. Good performance is often not enough to warrant a raise, those who do get raises outside of this are often managers' pets. -Most employees do not care about their job, often make it verbally apparent. -There seems to be a culture of fear instilled by territory/market managers, visits from them to a store mean all store managers and dept. leads freak out up to it. -Dept. specific tasks are not well allocated, daily task lists are more of a nudge at what you should do vs. what actually happens. -Accountability is almost non-existent for anything except stealing product. -Unless its the holidays, you will probably not get all of the hours you are scheduled for in a closing shift (great if you're on salary, not so much as an hourly).

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-03-01
Found 76 reviews