Best Buy Reviews in Schaumburg, IL | Glassdoor

Best Buy Schaumburg Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Great starter job for sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great company, good discounts, room for growth. Helpful management team and responsive area management

    Cons

    employee recognition could be better. Compensation structure doesn't call for "earned commission" which may or may not cap salaries (depending on sales expertise)

    Advice to Management

    Recognize employees for great work. Provide better learning modules and more elaborate sales training.

    Best Buy2016-01-18
  2. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Discounts on Insignia products

    Cons

    - Sometimes management could be little too needy.

    Best Buy2018-10-17
  3. "You're gonna have a bad time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you like face to face sales, and nonstop, this job is for you

    Cons

    Bad scheduling, constant push to be doing more chain possible, management usually on your car about something, even if you're hittng your goals

    Best Buy2018-11-13
  4. "I loved working here, my coworkers were amazing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Specialist in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, caring management team, and lots of knowledge associates.

    Cons

    The raise system is kacking, after two years, my pay had only gone up a very small amount.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Best Buy2016-01-09
  5. "Awesome, fun, and rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Best Buy Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts. Meet new people. Easy to rise up in the company. Possibility to pick and chose your schedule.

    Cons

    Managers that micro manage. If the store is dead one hour it is your fault that you didn't hit your goal that hour. Full timers have to have closing shifts on weekdays and weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate employees with a higher pay. We hold the company and everyone that is higher than us.

    Best Buy2015-06-19
  6. "Great job to start off but DONT stay longer than needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Sales Consultant in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training - is awesome you really get to learn about different products every week (promo guides something else comes out.) Benefits - they aren't much less your full time but the discount is one hell of good one depending on such items. coworkers - unless you are a loner and completely dislikable you will make lifetime friendships

    Cons

    Leadership- Sometimes I've wondered why they really put people in some positions and you realized its majority based on favoritism People ask you all the time when is best buy closing and you see our stock is never really growing.

    Advice to Management

    I would tell the management to value their employees more, $.025 raise a year and being told how much you make for the store in year is wrong. If someone brings their very best than learn how to give a little more. instead of getting us little pay as you rack up in a bonus for getting people on either seasonal/employed for little pay or not firing.

    Best Buy2015-01-13
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some two managers were outstanding, and some of the co-works are pretty cool too.

    Cons

    Good luck trying to have lunch or a beak. Its all about who likes you not how hard you work.

    Best Buy2014-10-02
  8. "Good place to work but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Deal with the latest and greatest electronics and technology. - Flexible schedule - Employee discount on products. - You meet new people everyday.

    Cons

    - Some Managers aren't always the most effective in leading or the brighest crayon in the box. - Holidays can be a drag but fun. - Some customers are too rude.

    Advice to Management

    Effectively train all your employees not just line level. I do not care if they have been a manager for years or at multiple stores, your never to old to learn something new and to put someones ego in check.

    Best Buy2014-05-19
  9. ""If you love technology, work at Best Buy""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Best Buy Mobile Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Around technology all the time and get first look at some exclusive electronics. There used to be an amazing discount and you get to work with some cool people.

    Cons

    Corporate thinks they know everything, when they don't. I worked at a little 2.0 store and corporate would come for a visit and bring 20 people with and clutter up the store and when I can't barely walk around them they get on our case and say work harder.

    Advice to Management

    Don't play favorites.

    Best Buy2014-04-23
  10. "Pretty easy because there is no aggressive selling or commission based sales for most departments."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Portable Electronics Sales in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Discounts, decent hours, fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    bad pay, breaks were short, management is rough

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on all your stores..

    Best Buy2014-02-11
Found 13 reviews