Best Buy Software Engineer Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
1 Rating
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent people. Safe place to work.

    Cons

    Nothing at the moment. Work hard, and you'll do fine.

    Best Buy2020-05-30
  2. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2020-05-21
  3. "Happy work environment and nice senior management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast work pace (I enjoyed it) Responsive co-workers and manger (I do think this depends on which team you r at, mine is the chat team)

    Cons

    I haven't found any cons, yet.

    Best Buy2020-05-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Working on the BestBuy.com team: a bad experience that felt like it had potential"

    1.0
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    A few bright spots that have potential to help turn things around: - Team managers seem well-intentioned (unfortunately bogged down by larger structural inefficiencies, though) - Working on a current tech stack (once again, this manifests itself less optimally due to organizational weaknesses)

    Cons

    - Very much has the vibe of "clock in, clock out" culture. People don't see passionate about the work they're doing and its quality. This probably has certain roots in how heavily the workforce is skewed towards contractors. - Teams are split by site functions rather than as full stack teams. this makes it hard to build functionality/solve problems independently and leads to cross-team blockers that stagnate. certain teams bear more of the load here, which only compounds the issue - Designers focused on pixel perfect wireframes when there are more systemic design issues in engineering and the actual website final product - Documentation is very poor. it's hard to feel like you can hit the ground running, especially combined with the fact that on-boarding is non-existent.

    Continue reading
    Best Buy2019-11-07
  5. "The Digital/Dotcom group was a great place to work before everyone left to work at Target"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Director 

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great engineering incl. the scale and challenge to make it fun

    Cons

    The company has no idea how valuable the E-Commerce portion is; if they would just focus on the E-Commerce and automated fulfillment ~ supply chain ... time will tell but this could be a real missed opportunity depending on what happens during the next retail downturn.

    Best Buy2019-09-10
  6. "Good company, latest technologies"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer - Java Developer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been able to grow professionally a lot at Best Buy and have worked with some of the smartest people here. They use a lot of the latest technologies and have a great culture despite their large size. I feel like the managers and directors really do care about you here

    Cons

    Honestly it's just the commute for me that is making me consider a different company to work for

    Best Buy2019-04-25
  7. "Nice Place To Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    The compnay uses newer technologies

    Cons

    Larger corporation, so it takes a while to transition to an employee.

    Best Buy2019-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Buy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Work Environment, Greater scope for career growth, Working on newer technologies

    Cons

    Aggressive business nature will make delivery schedules hectic.

    Best Buy2012-10-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, interesting projects. Work life balance is good overall, except during the holiday sales.

    Cons

    BBY Canada doesn't invest enough in technology and retaining talents.

    Best Buy2020-02-26
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    You can innovate at your own pace.

    Cons

    No room to grow if you get bore with your current work.

    Best Buy2019-11-17
Found 14 reviews