Best Buy Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Director Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Enjoyable place to work, some old school mentality exists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast Paced field environment Autonomy & ability to influence strategy Pay is good

    Cons

    Old school thinking in certain areas Lots of changes over the years - re orgs

    Advice to Management

    Let the business changes take place & see them through

    Best Buy2014-11-12
  2. "Great culture and compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Richfield, MN

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are great! The discount is amazing! The company values are timeless!

    Cons

    Redundancy makes it tough to get things done. People are allowed to opt in or out of initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize and enable value added change

    Best Buy2014-09-16
  3. "Excellent, faced paced work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best Buy is an innovative, faced paced environment with ample career advancement. The company recognizes the challenges ahead and is working to build on the changing environment in consumer electronics

    Cons

    The changing culture has created a sense of instability at all levels for employment. While change is necessary, the company continually has laid off workers at all levels

    Advice to Management

    Work to rebuild a sense of pride and stability in the organization. Top talent at all levels is leaving the company for this very reason. Recognize the level of talent you have working within the company.

    Best Buy2014-09-01
  4. "An amazingly positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and a great culture

    Cons

    Downsizing will continue to be necessary

    Advice to Management

    Can't cost cut to profitability.

    Best Buy2014-08-28
  5. "No loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Service Operations in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money is OK, hours are long

    Cons

    No Loyalty, no regard to its employees

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting all your talent walk out the door

    Best Buy2014-09-26
  6. "Too many restructures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee Discount, opportunity to interact with the newest technology on the market.

    Cons

    Constantly changing management structure. Lost position 2x in 1 year. Too much stress not knowing if you will have a job in 6 months.

    Advice to Management

    Be stable for at least 12-24 months to allow for those in role to make an impact.

    Best Buy2014-08-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "New culture; attempting to rebound; new realities of industry and economy; loss of many good leaders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We have a history of overcoming adversity. New management is intelligent and has calmed Wall Street. However, our plan is still not cohesive or necessarily "strong". It also seems to be highly dependent upon our primary, large competitors not creating a similar plan with greater efficiencies and cost-effectiveness - In other words, there is a better than average chance that they will do it better than we will.

    Cons

    Once a deep, energized, positive culture is now a feeling of simply "having a job"; many people spend time worrying about the stability of the company and/or their jobs. They also spend time brushing up on their LinkedIn profiles and job-board sites (like I am doing as I type this). There is far too much work (staying competitive has created "new"/additional work), but we have fewer people at corporate and in our... store roles to accomplish that work with excellence. Often, it's not accomplished at all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to form a new culture - "any" type of culture, because people will not stay with or follow a company they don't feel an emotional connection to - as we once ALL did at Best Buy. Also, we need to find ways to advance high-quality, intelligent leaders who have been waiting for opportunities, vs. always going outside for upper / senior management.

    Best Buy2014-08-11
  8. "Great company to learn new things in the past but focus has changed and is very challenging at this time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Operations in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits and pay. Overall good, Recent economic developments are causing Best Buy to change the former culture.

    Cons

    Culture is changing that is non productive. The company is chasing different areas of the business and is more focused on short term results than long term customer growth.

    Advice to Management

    Development needs to be more than a buzz word. Need to actually do it. Stop changing the focus every time a goal is missed. Stay the course and focus on consistency rather than one time results.

    Best Buy2014-08-05
  9. "Great People, Changing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always changing, customer focused, great people to work with, Great products to work with and learn about

    Cons

    Look to short term fixes vs. trying to solve the long term problem, no one feels comfortable work across teams to produce better results because everyone is trying to prove their value to leadership

    Advice to Management

    Need to focus on the changing market and invest in those areas

    Best Buy2014-05-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "BBY Corporate - Fear, Disrespect, layoffs weekly, Leaders don’t live the values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The campus is amazing, well designed and convenient. Direct managers were supportive. Finally developing a strategy (barely) Finally less than 30 strategic priorities and they make more sense Attempting to create a sustainable business model Developing more structure

    Cons

    No training and development. Sr. leaders are unbealivably disrespectful and have created an environment of fear where no one feels comfortable being honest. New leaders have no idea how the work gets done and they don’t care Work you like a dog and treat employees like machines. Senior leaders (VPs+) assume all employees are idiots and are not interested in know why things or results are they way the are. ... More interested in hitting dates on projects and initiatives versus delivering quality for the customer/client. Termination Tuesday is getting old Diversity is terrible and at times environment hostile. Leaders care more about decks and formatting more than content.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leaders should live the values and treat people with respect. Leadership must address morale. Specifically corporate. Develop a sustainable strategy and operating model. Executive leadership should take time to listen to their teams. Demands are unrealistic and the results demonstrate that. Technology investments are behind the times.

    Best Buy2014-05-14
Found 51 reviews