Best Buy "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18928 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of my fellow employees had a difficult time becoming full-time or moving up to other rolls(in 584 reviews)

  • "While quality of life is a focus of the company the work life balance sometimes suffers(in 528 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mishawaka, IN

      I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      good employee discount on electronics

      Cons

      "not on commission" is a misnomer when dept. leaders and up receive bonuses for attaching service plans on sales

      Best Buy2019-05-11
    • "Great job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inventory Specialist in Manchester, NH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Benefits Great environment Employee discount

      Cons

      Lack of serous management No accountability

      Advice to Management

      Do better

      Best Buy2019-05-08
    • "Okay experince"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant 

        I worked at Best Buy part-time

        Pros

        Great employee discount, chill environment

        Cons

        okay pay, pushy managers , high expectations

        Best Buy2019-05-02
      • "Difficult to get promoted"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Operations Senior in Las Vegas, NV
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Employee discount was good, and good environment in terms of friendliness.

        Cons

        Difficult to get promoted due to management in other departments and locations having a lot of input. Friends of managers got promoted quickly, but other employees were passed up for opportunities.

        Best Buy2019-05-14
      • "Good starting job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Computer Sales Associate 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great training and culture Flexible with schedule Employee discount

        Cons

        Pay isn't the best but not the worst

        Best Buy2019-04-26
      • "It’s a Job, That’s All"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Riverdale, UT
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Employee discount, always in the know about the latest consumer electronics

        Cons

        It’s a really big company, very unreliable coworkers, high turn over, working truck nights is a very inconsistent schedule and your personal schedule will be taken advantage of when you do work them

        Advice to Management

        More accountability and awareness towards employees. I was a stand-out employee and it seemed the harder I worked, the more they expected of me, while coworkers who only did the minimum were never expected to do more than that. Truck nights really need to have set in stone schedules. The schedule would always say we’d be done by 11PM but that rarely happened. More often it was 1AM - 2AM but there were nights we were...

        Show More
        Best Buy2019-05-09
      • "Good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Merchandiser in Riverdale, NJ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good work atmosphere, employee discount, room for growth if you're dedicated

        Cons

        Sometimes difficult hours, holiday seasons are a whole different beast

        Advice to Management

        Allow departments to interact and be fluid together

        Best Buy2019-04-19
      • "Friendly coworkers, little opportunity for advancement"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Millbury, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great people to work with, very friendly coworkers. Pay is higher than typical retail jobs. Employee discount is very good as well.

        Cons

        Working weekends Management is constantly expecting more from employees and very rarely focuses on the positives. Some sales goals are unrealistic No real opportunities for advancement.

        Advice to Management

        Hire more competent associates and find ways to reward good performance.

        Best Buy2019-04-30
      • "Poor management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Decent pay, alright employee discount,

        Cons

        No direction from management , not flexible with hours, didn’t even get my uniform for the first 3 weeks

        Advice to Management

        Cut down in the training on the computer

        Best Buy2019-04-30
      • "Management could be better."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Employee discount is a great perk. Access to latest technology.

        Cons

        Micro-managing is a big problem here, even if you are reliable and/or top performer.

        Advice to Management

        Put more trust into your top employees.

        Best Buy2019-04-28
      Found 18928 reviews