Best Buy "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Employee Reviews about "full time"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18928 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of my fellow employees had a difficult time becoming full-time or moving up to other rolls(in 584 reviews)

  • "While quality of life is a focus of the company the work life balance sometimes suffers(in 528 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "In Home Advisor Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In Home Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Discounts -Amazing people that you work with -Full Time Benefits, can be Dental and Optical as well

    Cons

    -Corporate Management -Very inconsistent with customer service -No accountability from upper level management

    Best Buy2019-05-02
  2. "Best Buy offers decent pay and provides good job opportunities, to some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Home Expert in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, vendor training, sales coaching

    Cons

    Some of my fellow employees had a difficult time becoming full-time or moving up to other rolls. Management at both locations I worked at (in completely different states) seemed to have a skewed preference when promoting from within.

    Best Buy2019-04-25
  3. "Decent job, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Sales Associate in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Working around very cool technology, learning all about new devices - Some customers can be very nice and helping them solve their problems with technology can be a fun experience

    Cons

    - Bonus structure has gone from monthly to quarterly. In a smaller store, this means NO BONUS essentially. Huge deal breaker - Management extremely pressuring to sell their Geek Squad services and push for credit card applications. Can be stressful and can result in becoming a pushy salesman - Feels like a commission based job... minus the commission - Work/life balance can be awful as a full-time...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please just take a deep breath and try harder to promote a POSITIVE environment. I guarantee you it'd be better than being yelled at through the walkie every single day. Also, try and show you actually care about us as human beings, or at least pretend to?

    Best Buy2019-05-08
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good people and a company that seems to care more than others about its employees provided you have good management. Decent benefits for full time especially for students.

    Cons

    Good company, but it’s still retail. Depending on department and location goals can be unrealistic

    Best Buy2019-04-22
  5. "Great Job with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Connected Home in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits for full time and part time. Big stores, Plenty to learn about.

    Cons

    Have to relocate to move up in most cases, working holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Good company, management is headed in the right direction

    Best Buy2019-04-06
  6. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Best Buy

      Pros

      If you’re full time they do tuition reimbursement if you are a full time student as well. Great bonuses and discounts

      Cons

      Working holidays, work life balance is hard

      Advice to Management

      Don’t have favorites

      Best Buy2019-04-17
    • "Worst Job environment I Have ever been in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Lansing, MI
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very easy job, and meh benefits.

      Cons

      -Worst Training I have ever taking They throw you on computer without any mentoring for like weeks and you gotta do those tedious E-learnings(Training modules) which is the worst E-learningsI have ever taken. Why you ask? because most of them (the 60 i took) are very useless and redundant information, and it takes years to good to the point or even the thing they should have said in e-learnings in beginning. You don't...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      - Mentor your new hires closely, and answer any questions they have even if you think they don't. - Train them early and weave the sales floor training into the e-learnings. - Take feed back from employees especially new hires. - Make the new employees feel comfortable and belong there. - Don't look down on anyone - Stop pushing us sell credit cards so hard - Stop pushing us to sell protection so hard - Stop...

      Show More
      Best Buy2019-04-13
    • "Best Buy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Best Buy part-time

        Pros

        Decent discount Pretty good pay People tend to be friendly

        Cons

        Hard to get full time Hours tend to be slim

        Best Buy2019-03-26
      • "Its not bad"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - CSS 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Honestly, any job you can pick up here is not bad. Pay could be better, but generally, its not bad as long as you get managers that aren't a bunch of fools. There's opportunity to learn and grow, benefits are alright.

        Cons

        If managers are foolish, and don't know how to do their jobs proper, it can be very annoying. Blame other people for issues that came up over their supervision. Favoritism happens here for sure, but other places might offer positions based on being cut out for it. Part time hours are bad, I definitely recommend full time if you can get it.

        Best Buy2019-04-05
      • "Best Buy is a great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Best Buy Mobile Apple Master in Redding, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Great staff and store culture - Non-commission - Lenient dress code (tattoos/piercings are okay) - Ethical Company -

        Cons

        - Not many full time positions - Frustrating customers

        Best Buy2019-03-17
      Found 18928 reviews