Best Buy "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Employee Reviews about "long hours"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18928 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of my fellow employees had a difficult time becoming full-time or moving up to other rolls(in 584 reviews)

  • "While quality of life is a focus of the company the work life balance sometimes suffers(in 528 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Best Buy full-time

      Pros

      Faced paced, fun, great team

      Cons

      long hours for managers. 50+

      Best Buy2019-05-02
    • "Underpaid Retail Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Discounts, Young co workers, part time gig after high school works around your college schedules

      Cons

      Everything, underpaid, long hours after closing to stock inventory, no incentive to sell

      Advice to Management

      Pay commission and stop hustling people for accessories

      Best Buy2019-05-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "I should have been moved on."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Learned a lot from this company. The bonus for Managers are good they use to be great.

      Cons

      Long hours if you a Manager. Favoritisms from upper Manager. Corporate walks very stressful. Will demote you if you not hitting your goals.

      Advice to Management

      Stop Hiring young Managers to run the company. Customers and Employees do not like it. Listen to your employees. Hire more Females into Management.

      Best Buy2019-03-19
    • "Best Buy is Cheap"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Fun to interact with customers

        Cons

        low pay for long hours

        Best Buy2019-03-21
      • "Seasonal"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

          I have been working at Best Buy part-time

          Pros

          Good pay Easy going culture Easy job

          Cons

          Long hours Stay an hour after closing Management has favorites

          Best Buy2019-03-09
        • "Great Entry Level Job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Deployment Functionality Technician in Newport News, VA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Great to learn the industry Great Benefits

          Cons

          Low pay No HR support Long Hours and Travel

          Advice to Management

          Hold supervisors and managers accountable when they mess up. Very much a buddy buddy system when it come to management.

          Best Buy2019-02-20
        • "Great Place"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Operations Director 

            I have been working at Best Buy full-time

            Pros

            Paid very well, high for the area

            Cons

            long hours, and sometimes terrible culture

            Best Buy2019-02-08
          • "Realxed Environment"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Sales Associate - Lifestyles in Sugar Land, TX

            I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            Working with the latest technology Easy to sell Talk to people Great employee discounts

            Cons

            Long hours standing Doing stuff that’s not your job

            Best Buy2019-02-07
          • "Great Place to work for first job!"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Covington, LA

              I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

              Pros

              Good benefits for both full and part time employees

              Cons

              Long hours during holiday season

              Best Buy2019-02-01
            • "Not worth it"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - Geek Squad 
              Doesn't Recommend
              Negative Outlook
              No opinion of CEO

              I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 2 years

              Pros

              Get a check nothing else

              Cons

              Long hours during holidays, then none afterwards. Rude management. We have PTO but get shamed for using it.

              Advice to Management

              Treat us as your team not just your workers

              Best Buy2019-01-25
            Found 18928 reviews