Best Buy "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Buy Employee Reviews about "part time"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18928 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of my fellow employees had a difficult time becoming full-time or moving up to other rolls(in 584 reviews)

  • "While quality of life is a focus of the company the work life balance sometimes suffers(in 528 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Repair Agent in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fun and fast paced place to work. They have good benefits for part time employees, 401k, paid time off.

    Cons

    Stubborn on operating procedures. Sometimes have things that make no sense to the overall business

    Best Buy2019-04-29
  2. "Underpaid Retail Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Discounts, Young co workers, part time gig after high school works around your college schedules

    Cons

    Everything, underpaid, long hours after closing to stock inventory, no incentive to sell

    Advice to Management

    Pay commission and stop hustling people for accessories

    Best Buy2019-05-06
  3. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're looking for a part time job for the summer as a young person this is a good place for you. Decent pay for retail. Mediocre discount for employees.

    Cons

    No commission. No bonuses until you have been there for a minimum of 3 months. Bonuses are based on performance of entire location.

    Advice to Management

    Give sales associates commission and sales would improve.

    Best Buy2019-05-05
  4. "Decent for a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Best Buy

      Pros

      - Great part time pay - Flexible hours - some commission

      Cons

      - managers can be a little pushy when it comes to revenue - not great holiday hours

      Advice to Management

      Management should reward employees when they are hitting there goals better.

      Best Buy2019-04-30
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inventory Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      -not a super stressful job -no hard sales quotas or metrics -fun work environment if you like tech

      Cons

      -low pay -hours are hard to get initially as a part time employee

      Best Buy2019-04-10
    • "Great Job with good benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Connected Home in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Benefits for full time and part time. Big stores, Plenty to learn about.

      Cons

      Have to relocate to move up in most cases, working holidays.

      Advice to Management

      Good company, management is headed in the right direction

      Best Buy2019-04-06
    • "Sales driven and that is it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Scheduling was very easy since we had so many part-time employees and it could be adjusted every two weeks.

      Cons

      Very much what you would expect out of a corporation this large. We had to meet an hourly expectation of sales or get risked moved to another department. It created competition within department peers instead of team bonds. Those who sold the most for get more hours than the rest.

      Best Buy2019-04-20
    • "Worst Job environment I Have ever been in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Lansing, MI
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very easy job, and meh benefits.

      Cons

      -Worst Training I have ever taking They throw you on computer without any mentoring for like weeks and you gotta do those tedious E-learnings(Training modules) which is the worst E-learningsI have ever taken. Why you ask? because most of them (the 60 i took) are very useless and redundant information, and it takes years to good to the point or even the thing they should have said in e-learnings in beginning. You don't...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      - Mentor your new hires closely, and answer any questions they have even if you think they don't. - Train them early and weave the sales floor training into the e-learnings. - Take feed back from employees especially new hires. - Make the new employees feel comfortable and belong there. - Don't look down on anyone - Stop pushing us sell credit cards so hard - Stop pushing us to sell protection so hard - Stop...

      Show More
      Best Buy2019-04-13
    • "Its not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CSS 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Best Buy part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Honestly, any job you can pick up here is not bad. Pay could be better, but generally, its not bad as long as you get managers that aren't a bunch of fools. There's opportunity to learn and grow, benefits are alright.

      Cons

      If managers are foolish, and don't know how to do their jobs proper, it can be very annoying. Blame other people for issues that came up over their supervision. Favoritism happens here for sure, but other places might offer positions based on being cut out for it. Part time hours are bad, I definitely recommend full time if you can get it.

      Best Buy2019-04-05
    • "Good if you're full-time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Inventory Specialist 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Best Buy part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Work was enjoyable, staff was friendly.

        Cons

        They don't give you any hours if you're part-time.

        Best Buy2019-03-30
      Found 18928 reviews