Best Buy Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for project manager

Best Buy Project Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work as a PM, recently noticed someone commenting that we don't have a PMO department. But I have been with Best Buy for about 7 years and the PMO team has been established with Best Buy before I started.

    Cons

    Far too often good and great employees get burnt out because of poor Project Managers who do not have a basic or general idea of what is required as a Project manager, such as communication and knowing what is going on with your project instead of asking other departments who are not involved. As well as a lack of PMs having a basic knowledge of the concept of their project and department.

    Advice to Management

    It would be a lot easier to get projects done on time and within budget if there was more care put into vetting PMs and their competency of general and basic PM knowledge as well as subject knowledge of the department they work for. For example having a Marketing Project Manager managing the Technical Project with no back ground or technical knowledge or the desire to learn.

    Best Buy2018-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Layoffs in 2019. Can't figure out IT/Company direction. Just a store selling others boxes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monday - buffalo chicken salad Wednesday - pasta bar Great time to recover from the weekend and prep for the next weekend!

    Cons

    The new CDO has reverted to analysis paralysis and doesn't have the stones to sign-off on a budget or direction. He has killed any advancement in technology for 2019, which leads me to believe BBY is in big trouble with cell phone market shirking and shopping habits changed. A bunch of legacy employees milking the system until their Social Security kicks in.

    Advice to Management

    Better come up with something fast or your holiday will not be so jolly. Good luck finding US citizens willing to work for BBY after the way you are treating people in the short term. Please review Amazon's 13 principles for guidance?

    Best Buy2019-04-12
  3. "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time

    Pros

    Nothing good to say here

    Cons

    Everything was bad at this company

    Best Buy2019-03-06
  4. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, Always evolving the business to stay relavent and competitive.

    Cons

    Growth Opportunities, job codes need to be updated.

    Best Buy2018-07-10
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great campus, culture and employees!

    Cons

    None, great environment and culture

    Best Buy2017-02-08
  6. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Project Manager 

    I worked at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    Compared to other workplaces, Best Buy treats their contractors relatively well.

    Cons

    Limited options to become a full-time employee, despite the better treatment as a contractor you are still not included in a lot of meetings and initiatives which is a problem with contracting, not necessarily Best Buy.

    Best Buy2016-03-22
  7. "Great Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Halethorpe, MD
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a great opportunity to work with many diverse hardworking people.

    Cons

    Training at all levels is fragmented.

    Best Buy2015-05-14
  8. "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy

    Pros

    Fun culture, fast paced, good compensation and benefits. Teams are very welcoming and networking is encouraged throughout the corporation. Leadership is supportive and thankful.

    Cons

    Holiday season can make the work-life balance a bit more difficult, but that's retail. Internal promotions are common, but can be lacking in some teams.

    Best Buy2015-03-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Best Buy Corporate Office Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big Organization, Perks are good. you get good deals on what you buy from bestBuy.

    Cons

    Politics, Unplanned projects, Reporting managers are unskilled, Work on Weekends, No team building activities. Management just wants to exploit resources. Average Salary.

    Advice to Management

    Please get these Geek Squad People out and get some really good managers to utilize the skills of workforce and explore opportunities .

    Best Buy2014-09-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best Buy Mobile is a horrible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Richfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Buy for more than a year

    Pros

    Dealing with other BU outside of Mobile

    Cons

    Dealing with a certain female in Mobile

    Advice to Management

    Should easily be able to see which emplyee is tearing down your business

    Best Buy2014-08-27
Found 26 reviews