Best Buy Software engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Best Buy Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
0 Ratings
  1. "Good company, latest technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer - Java Developer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been able to grow professionally a lot at Best Buy and have worked with some of the smartest people here. They use a lot of the latest technologies and have a great culture despite their large size. I feel like the managers and directors really do care about you here

    Cons

    Honestly it's just the commute for me that is making me consider a different company to work for

    Best Buy2019-04-25
  2. "The Digital/Dotcom group was a great place to work before everyone left to work at Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Director 

    I worked at Best Buy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great engineering incl. the scale and challenge to make it fun

    Cons

    The company has no idea how valuable the E-Commerce portion is; if they would just focus on the E-Commerce and automated fulfillment ~ supply chain ... time will tell but this could be a real missed opportunity depending on what happens during the next retail downturn.

    Best Buy2019-09-10
  3. "Nice Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    The compnay uses newer technologies

    Cons

    Larger corporation, so it takes a while to transition to an employee.

    Best Buy2019-04-23
  4. "Best Buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Work Environment, Greater scope for career growth, Working on newer technologies

    Cons

    Aggressive business nature will make delivery schedules hectic.

    Best Buy2012-10-30
  5. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture. Great Leadership. Great Work-life Balance.

    Cons

    Location. Salary is lower than average.

    Best Buy2019-07-14
  6. "Best buy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Bangalore

    I worked at Best Buy

    Pros

    The company has a good work culture, everyone starting from the team members and seniors are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    It really has no cons of any sorts. Time is flexible and a very conducive environment to work at.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Best Buy2016-06-20
  7. "A Good place to learn, but all technical decisions are made by High level managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Buy for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good friendly environment and team work

    Cons

    Is really hard to make any change in system and

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Best Buy2013-10-01
Found 7 reviews