Best Version Media Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
Pros
  • "BVM offers an opportunity to create a successful business without a large initial investment(in 105 reviews)

  • "Be a publisher with unlimited support throughout training, all the way up to Dave Durand the CEO(in 71 reviews)

Cons
  • "The pay is based on working 20 hours a month, but to produce a high-quality magazine, it takes much more time(in 48 reviews)

  • "Publishers are essentially a super-cheap sales force, with no benefits(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Best version of a job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    The level of autonomy to run your OWN business with the support of Best Version Media is definitely a pro for a self starter who knows how to get the job done without a “boss”- but the support you will receive from others in the company is consistent and effective.

    Cons

    This job wouldn’t be right for someone who needs to punch a clock and be told what to do. You need a high level of conviction and a desire to help your community.

    Continue reading

    Best Version Media Response

    November 11, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the great review! We LOVE hearing from our people!

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    Culture, values, the income potential

    Cons

    Cold calling, sales, independent contractor, no guaranteed pay

    Best Version Media Response

    March 11, 2020Media Relations

    We appreciate the feedback!

  3. "Not an easy job but well worth it!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High commission, great ongoing training and support, no "boss vs. employee" atmosphere

    Cons

    no pay until your baseline is met (though that is an understandable trade off seeing as how our sponsors aren't charged until we reach our print baseline)

    Best Version Media Response

    July 2, 2020Media Relations

    Thanks for the great feedback! The Publisher opportunity is challenging but very rewarding and we're excited to hear that you've enjoyed your time working with us.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Lowest of the low paying"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Publisher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job for someone wanting to fill hours in the day and for Chatty Cathy’s. Well developed sales program, easy to follow strategy

    Cons

    -Poor commission structure and overall low pay compared to other sales jobs -no base pay, all commission...including little support for getting leads, build your brand, and uncover leads. -outdated prospecting strategy. Expectation is to drop into small businesses unannounced and to cold call all day long. No digital marketing, no support joining local chamber networking groups, no lead gen -initial training Is a waste of time if you have any sales experience whatsoever. - no risk for company...100% risk for employee.

    Continue reading

    Best Version Media Response

    June 5, 2020Media Relations

    The BVM Publisher opportunity proudly offers an impressive commission structure unlike any other in the industry. This reviewer has false information in his or her review. BVM has digital programs and digital lead programs, and we encourage certain networking programs. BVM also invests major dollars into each potential Publisher. We understand that the opportunity is not for everyone, but these facts matter.

  5. "Great opportunity"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Associate Publisher 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, company culture, income potential

    Cons

    Prospecting and cold calling daily

    Best Version Media Response

    April 9, 2020Media Relations

    Thanks for leaving us some feedback! The BVM Publisher opportunity offers flexibility and uncapped earning potential.

  6. "Good part time gig"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Coordinator in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy writing content so it's been pretty easy for me.

    Cons

    The pay is not good. For the content written it takes longer than 20hours a month.

    Continue reading

    Best Version Media Response

    March 31, 2020Media Relations

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. The Content Coordinator opportunity offers writers the chance to earn additional income by writing content for our magazines in a flexible, professional setting.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dream opportunity for the right person."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Version Media

    Pros

    Total autonomy, since you work as an independent contractor. This isn’t a “job”. It’s a career that you control completely. Success can be had via 9-5 M-F schedule. Plenty of help and support from BVM, on a daily basis.

    Cons

    You MUST be a self-starter, with a degree of self discipline to run your own business.

    Continue reading

    Best Version Media Response

    February 17, 2020Media Relations

    The BVM opportunity is an excellent way for self-starters to build a successful business for themselves. Thanks for leaving us some feedback!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "The Best Version of Me / Yourself"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You are your own boss. You decide your hours and how much you want to make Unlimited income potential. Complete autonomy and enormous support from a endless number of people you can reach out to who genuinely want you to succeed. I love the people, from the start, through training and even now, they just make you feel included in one big family. No one ever talks down to you or in a condescending or disrespectful manner even if you mess up We work hard, but im pretty sure we play even harder. Love my division manager and productivity coach who check in daily to see if im doing okay or need help and theyre awesome. From the CEO, to the VP's on down, they are very knowledgeable and a source of inspiration and motivation. It hasnt been that long since i started and i look forward to a long and prosperous future together .

    Cons

    Can't think of any except it's not for everybody. Especially if youre not a self starter and a go-getter, or youre not willing to put in the work, you won't make it

    Continue reading

    Best Version Media Response

    February 10, 2020Media Relations

    The BVM Publisher opportunity offers entrepreneurs the exciting chance to build their own business with unlimited income potential. Thanks for the feedback!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Local editorial team was great."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Content Coordinator in Stamford, CT

    I worked at Best Version Media part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Certainly nice to work from home and on your own schedule. Our local team was smart and collaborative.

    Cons

    The pay is based on working 20 hours a month, but to produce a high-quality magazine, it takes much more time.

    Continue reading

    Best Version Media Response

    February 10, 2020Media Relations

    Content Coordinators enjoy a flexible, professional environment that allows them to earn additional income by writing local content for our magazines. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve the opportunity moving forward.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Easy job, very low pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fun to work with people in the neighborhood.

    Cons

    Pay is very low. It takes minimally 5-10 hours a week to do a passable job. I think I would make more money at Starbucks. I am only doing this because I don't have many options at the moment.

    Best Version Media Response

    February 5, 2020Media Relations

    Thanks for leaving us some feedback. The Content Coordinator opportunity is a great way for talented writers to earn additional income in a flexible, professional setting that keeps them connected in the local community.

Found 275 reviews